What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Incomplete charging cycle

sami

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi,

Sometimes I need to use my IPAD while it is charging,so I discontinue the charger before charging reaches 100%,,, Is that bad(for the battery lifespan).

Thanks and best regards,
Sami

gray_mouse

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hola. Can't say for sure about iPad, but being an IT tech I can tell you that

a) device must charge fully, and be kept at full charge as often as you can. For example my ipad is charging during night.

b) once a month or so let the battery discharge until your unit turns off and then immediately charge it fully. Makes battery last longer.

I think your charging strategy is wrong. My iPad lasts me the whole day, I come home with 50% charge available. Today I have 88% left. I play with it now until I go to sleep, then I put it charging for the whole night. In the morning it will be 100% and ready to be used for the whole day.

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
I thought for the iPad you didnt need to let the battery deplete then recharge?

Apple recommends you do so about once a month. It has nothing to do with battery maintenance or longevity. It is just a way to keep the software calibrated so that it reports your remaining battery time accurately.

Stephen19

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Ok, could I have some clarity please. My battery strategy is to fully charge to 100% then use and run down until under 10%, normally under 5% before a full charge again. Last time it ran down so far and turned itself off as so low! Lasts a full 10 hours use crom full and charges in four.