Improving WiFi coverage

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by PCUK, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. PCUK
    Offline

    PCUK iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon, England
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    For once this is not a moan about Ipad Wifi reception.
    Instead I need to boost my wifi area in the house as it doesn't extend more than about 6 metres from the router whatever I am using, whether it is the Ipad or laptop. Are there any signal boosters or other equipment to boost the signal throughout the house?
    Thanks,
    Peter
  2. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,734
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +569 / 1
    What brand router are you using?

    I recommend a net gear 300 n router but there are are others
  3. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Is your house built with lead walls??

    I agree with my esteemed colleague that a new router is most likely in order. It is not necessary to get a top of line line model. I have a D-Link DIR-615 which is pretty much their entry level 802.11n router and it works great!

    I live on 3 acres and my router is in the "man cave" in the corner of the house with the red arrow and I have good coverage over the entire property. (I listen to streaming music on my iPod Touch while cutting grass)

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  4. Pocobear
    Offline

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    What I have done is too set up 3 units of the same brand, use the same SSID and password on each one and then set each one to a different channel spaced at least 2 channels apart, more is better. I live in a large brick house with some brick walls between rooms, as they were added on. I live in the middle of 135 acres so I don't have to worry about interfering with others. Two units should work fine in most cases with some trial and error in placement. Tried booster units, but they were slow and erratic. Just another thought. If you live in close to others with WiFi just try another channel, you may be getting interference from your neighbors.
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  5. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Upgrade to an 802.11N router if you already have not done so.

    also if your a Techie type of person that likes to do this kind of stuff you can pick up either an 802.11N router that supports wireless bridging or pick up one thats compatible with DD-wrt.

    DD-wrt is a custom open firmware for wireless routers that you can install to give you more options. My main router is a Cradlepoint MBR1000 with a backup Verizon aircard to keep the internet up if the cable company ever goes out.

    Then I have a 802.11N netgear router that I installed DD-wrt on. I set this router up to connect to the main router and then share the internet out with devices that are connected. Also with DD-wrt I am able to set up Multiple SSID's that broadcast and are on their own VLan. If anyone tries to bypass the security and jump on the network, there gonna have to go through a few SSID's first before finding the valid one.
  6. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Like your thinking Mike.
  7. PCUK
    Offline

    PCUK iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon, England
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I use a Netgear DGN1000, only eight months old. Took hours on the phone to Netgear to get it set up.
    It could just be a piece of cra*p that never worked properly. Perhaps I should take it back!

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

dgn1000 custom firmware

,
dgn1000 dd-wrt
,
dgn1000 hack
,
improve ipad coverage
,

netgear dgn1000 custom firmware