What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Importing raw + jpeg from camera

Adagio

iPF Noob
Reaction score
iPad 4 iOS 6.1

I have been experimenting with camera imports. If I shoot as jpeg OR RAW all seems fine. I can import with camera connector, edit with Photogene etc. However, if I shoot RAW+jpeg, even though there are 2 files on the camera and the import app labels the thumbnail RAW+jpeg, only the jpeg file seems to be imported. I am an iPad newbie so suspect I am missing something, any suggestions more than welcome.

Alex101

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Hi David, I believe I read somewhere that the i-pad cannot import Raw files for some reason, only jpeg. I am new to i-pad also, having bought my 64GB i-Pad4 only a week ago, so you may get other replies that correct me. I will watch your replies as this also interests me. I know a few guys that have the earlier i-pads and regularly Wi-Fi tether to their 7D cameras. Which camera are you using?

Alex

OP
A

Adagio

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi Alex

I have 2 cameras that support RAW file format, an Olympus E-520 and Canon Powershot S95. The iPad 4 will most certainly import RAW files via the Lightning to USB Camera Adaptor provided that the camera is on the supported list. Photo displays the embedded JPEG thumbnail (actually of reasonable quality) this JPEG can also be edited with Photogene. The RAW files are added to Photo Stream and uploaded to iCloud. They can also be transferred via the Transfer App wirelessly to my Windows desktop.