What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Importing contacts from windows 7 live mail

treveden

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi,
Newbie here, I have been a user of windows since ver. 3 . We decided to buy a tablet PC as a joint Christmas gift. Delighted with the ipad 4 retina . Working my way through it, still not figured out how to transfer email contacts from win 7 to the ipad. Using the USB cable to sync.

Amyderm

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi Amyderm here, of no help sorry, but I am having the same problem. I am new to iPad so thought it was me :( hope someone can shed some light for us....inputting manually is tedious.

Fid

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I, too, have no answer for you. I hope that you do not have the same problem I did when I was setting up the contacts into my phone. When I would sync in iTunes my contacts would be erased. I changed settings and then got duplicates. I am using WinXp to sync to and my contacts sync from my iPad to my computer finally. Previously it was any change that was made to a contact on the iPad was reversed when I synced in iTunes. The computer had precedence over the changes. It was quite annoying.
So, check your settings in iTunes while your iPad is connected. I'm sure they will look different than what I see on my WinXP and not current iTunes, but the settings for syncing the contacts are available when you click on your iPad in the left side panel in the iTunes window. You'll have to scroll down on the right side panel where your iPad's information is displayed.

OP
T

treveden

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi, found this answer. It works:

If you are using Windows Live Mail (online version) with Windows 7, here's what I did. Hope it helps someone.