Imported ipad activation

Discussion in 'International iPad Users' started by dobbey, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. dobbey

    dobbey iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If I buy the ipad 2 in the us, do I have to activate it there or can I activate it the uk. I know that you have to activate a 3g in America, but what about a wifi only?
    Cheers
    Josh

    Sent from my Desire HD using iPad Forums
     
  2. MoonlitSonata

    MoonlitSonata Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,368
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Good ol' Midwest
    Ratings:
    +159 / 0
    you can use the wi-fi on any wi-fi router anywhere far as i know.
     
  3. dobbey

    dobbey iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Now I think about it, its a stupid question, sorry lol

    Sent from my Desire HD using iPad Forums
     
  4. thewitt

    thewitt iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,634
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
    You only activate if you using AT&T. The 3G iPad needs no special activation to use a carrier outside the US

    And of course the wifi only model does not ever need activating anywhere...

    -t
     
  5. Videographer

    Videographer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    That's a reasonable concern. In some countries the voltage is 220, where others is 110/120. In some countries you have to have a TV and/or DVD player that operates in NTSC, while others run PAL. It would make sense for many to question a possible difference in Wi-Fi signal. That was definately not a stupid question.
     
  6. Alifaruq

    Alifaruq iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Only if you have the US carrier in UK, I think it might work for 3G. But wifi will work anywhere you want, you just need a wireless connection.
     
  7. Swecodelico

    Swecodelico iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Indeed, I would have had the same concern in the past.

    Luckily enough, the Internet and WiFi connections are a lot more universal than TV systems and voltage of house electricity :)

    Aren't we, iPad users, lucky people? ;)
     
  8. dobbey

    dobbey iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Regarding the voltage,
    The batteries wouldn't change would they. Surely they would just use a different plug

    Sent from my Desire HD using iPad Forums
     
  9. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    The charger for the iPad is universal - it will work off all AC outlets anywhere in the world. You only need the physical adaptor to enable the charger to be phyiscally connected to the power outlet.

    Tim
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

activating an ipad for the uk in the us

,

activating ipad second hand

,

ipad 4 wifi activation tool