1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Im about to ask a stupid question.

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by mi04se1, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. mi04se1
    Offline

    mi04se1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    White Lake, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I purchased displayout last night and I have the Apple av cables. Here is what I want do do, but I think its impossible. My car (Pontiac G8) has a built in screen for the radio/hvac. I just bought the panhlldr mount because I already have the dash mount and I dont want to do any customizing. Here is my question. Lets say I have navigation going on the Ipad screen. Can I display a different app on my cars screen? I seen you could do it on a mac/pc, but I couldnt find what I was looking for.
  2. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,998 / 1
    Well, I wouldn't say the question is stupid, but that doesn't change the answer from a No.

    There is more than one reason, but it's getting late and I'm all typed out for the day.
  3. mi04se1
    Offline

    mi04se1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    White Lake, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the reply. I knew the answer would be no. Now if I could make it happen, I would be a millionaire.
  4. SBHOKC
    Offline

    SBHOKC iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Actually it has been done! But, you need to know a thing or two about electronics. It was most recently done on a Nissan minivans monitor. He can display data from his iPad or his Ham radio equipment.
  5. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,998 / 1
    The OP is asking about full multitasking with two monitors, each running a different app. I'm pretty sure your example is simply displaying the current app running on the iPad.
  6. mi04se1
    Offline

    mi04se1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    White Lake, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ^ you are correct.
  7. Glahhahn
    Offline

    Glahhahn iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Please help.can't send multiple email on bcc,done it before,but can't do it now,it won't send
    Thanks
  8. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    yeah, while you could send the display to a separate display there is no way to run another app on a separate display. Better off just mounting the iPad in the car.
  9. SBHOKC
    Offline

    SBHOKC iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oops, sorry I misunderstood the question.
  10. mi04se1
    Offline

    mi04se1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    White Lake, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My idea was to have 1 app (navigation) going on the Ipad and another app showing on the screen in my car (dash command).

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

pontiac g8 ipad mount