iKeywi HD for iPad - The new 5-Row Keyboard Tweak!

Discussion in 'Jailbreak Applications & Tweaks' started by f4780y, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,060 / 0
    Please keep in mind that everyone's tastes and preferences are going to be different from yours. What works for you may not work for others.

    For example, I use iKeywi on my iPad that is primarily in landscape and I don't use the split keyboard option. Therefore, iKeywi, with it's fully customizable keys, suits me to a "T."

    As I said - it is and always will be, YMMV.

    Marilyn
     
  2. smcshane

    smcshane iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'll admit I'm an amateur at this coming from PC's and Androids, but I installed IKeywi on my "iPad 3" especially for the arrow keys. In Safari sometimes the arrow keys work and sometimes they don't. If you go into settings/IKeywi HD/Save and Respring, then the arrow keys work for awhile. Doesn't seem to be related to closing and reopening Safari. Am I missing something (even arrow keys part of the time are great as far as I am concerned)?!

    SMcShane
     
  3. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    The developer has stated that there are some issues with the arrow keys since 5.1.1 was released (dahauss makes that comment a few posts back, and that the developer is working on the bug). They worked fine prior to 5.1.1 on iPad1 and iPad2.

    You aren't missing anything. You will just need to be patient for an update.
     
  4. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Great news. The latest update, released this morning, resolves the issue with arrow keys not working on IOS 5.1.1. Whilst I don't use them myself, I know it was bugging others ;)
     
  5. dahauss

    dahauss iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Never heard from developer after he told me he was working on a fix. this is great…. I updated and arrows now work 100%


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  6. c_strong

    c_strong iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Atlast they have fixed the arrow keys! Last problem i can see is that it doenst have the dot (.) button :(
     
  7. c_strong

    c_strong iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Nevermind i changed the alt 17 button from coma, to dot and now it works well!
     
  8. STeBoS

    STeBoS iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    This is the problem I'm having. Double tapping the space bar is ok for now but I hope this is addressed in the next update.

    Please read comic books
     
  9. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,060 / 0
    Ummmm, you do know that those buttons are customizable, right? Just like c_strong I'd, you can change any of the character keys to be what you wish. There are 20 keys on the main keyboard that are customizable - pick one that you want to be the key for the period.

    Marilyn
     
  10. STeBoS

    STeBoS iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Just did the same thing. Perfect!

    Please read comic books
     
  11. STeBoS

    STeBoS iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Lol. I kept double tapping the space bar to put in the period when customizing. Never thought to switch to alt. One of those 'DUH' moments.

    Please read comic books
     
  12. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Well the latest update to this app has got the cursor/arrow keys working perfectly, I'm now a very happy chappy!!
     
  13. MarkG35

    MarkG35 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento,CA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hi all.
    I've been lurking for awhile.I just purchased a New iPad and have jailbroken it.
    I installed iKeywi and thought I had it set up for numbers on top row.
    It works on apps like Google,Nook for iPad,theApp Store,iTunes.YouTube.Messages,Safari.
    It doesn't work on Notes,Reminders,Newsstand,Search,Calendar,iPad Forum app.
    That's about all I've checked so far.
    I have Winterboard(no themes yet,Summerboard is off)and Sb Settings.

    Has anyone else had this problem?Am I doing something wrong?
    Any Help appreciated

    Thanks,
    Mark
     
  14. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,060 / 0
    Well, it doesn't work with the keyboard in split mode. But, that's the only thing I see (and knew beforehand). Granted, I do have numbers for my fourth row (don't use them as often as characters), but I have a fourth row in all the apps you mentioned above (except I couldn't check Newsstand because I don't use it). Are you sure you bought the iPad version?

    So, all I can suggest (since I can't duplicate your issue) is to go back to Cydia, uninstall it and then reinstall it. Or, first, try to restart or reset your iPad.

    Anyone else have another suggestion...?

    Marilyn
     
  15. MarkG35

    MarkG35 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento,CA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I purchased the iKeywi HD for iPad.I uninstalled the app and reinstalled it.Restarted the iPad,still have the problem in the
    Apps I listed.
    I will keep trying.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

5 row keyboard ipad

,
how do you add arrows on the keyboard using ikeywi hd
,
ikeywi
,

ikeywi hd

,
ikeywi hd for ipad
,

ikeywi ipad

,
ipad 5 row keyboard
,
ipad hacker keyboard
,
keyboard hd image
,
keyboard images hd