What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iCloud syncing to multiple devices

burticle

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I work in a school where we've just bought 25 iPads. We were hoping to be able to use iCloud to sync all of these with exactly the same APPs. However despite the fact that we bought them all from the same place with the same spec etc some sync fine whilst others won't sync at all via iCloud. Does anyone know why? We have one Apple account.

davidalan99

iPF Novice
Reaction score
You can only work iCloud at this time with a single Apple ID, and therefore a limit of 10 devices per ID.

Found this on the web

Full article
http://www.tuaw.com/2011/08/09/apple-id-account-device-limits-gain-attention/

Short quote
When you use Apple's new multi-device download feature, you will be limited to a total of 10 devices and computers, each authorized with the same Apple ID. What's more, once a device or computer has been assigned to an Apple ID, it cannot be reassigned for 90 days. Apple's Knowledge Base support article details how you can deauthorize devices, and how to check the wait time before they can be re-assigned.

From apple support
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4627