iCloud "Erase Content" When Selling iPad Mini?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by ausmavsfan, Dec 14, 2015.

  1. ausmavsfan

    ausmavsfan
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an iPad mini (1st generation)

    The iPad no longer works, and I want to sell it on ebay.

    I don't want to mark it as "lost" on iCloud, but I also don't want the new owner to access the old information if they get it fixed.

    I went onto my iCloud and selected "erase all content" for the iPad.

    Will this still allow the buyer to use the iPad if they fix it, or will it block them out?

    Thanks!
     
  2. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    27,193
    Thanks Received:
    8,829
    The erase all content setting in find my iPad will only work after the iPad is fixed and connects to the Internet. If the iPad is iCloud locked, a new owner won't be able to access any of your info on the iPad. Even after the content is erased, the new owner won't be able to activate the iPad until the iCloud Activation Lock is turned off by you.
     

Share This Page