What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iBook author and keynote

Shimmykimmie54

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm new to using iBooks and keynote and I have a question.

Basically I did not have access to a Mac but created a tour using keynote for my workplace in a museum, as part of my MA dissertation.
The tour uses hyperlinks to take the user to different parts of the building and gives them information about the history of the building using text, video & audio clips. The problem that I discovered was that the keynote file could be edited by visitors accidentally so I was informed that I could create an iBook instead which would prevent editing and still contain the multimedia.

I've finally managed to get my hands on a mac computer and I was wondering if anyone knows whether I can perform a short cut and drag my keynote slides into iBook author? Or would I have to start from scratch?

I hope I've made sense in describing what I'm trying to achieve. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Kim

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Best Option:

If you are using iOS 7 on the iPad, OS X Mavericks on the Mac, and the latest version of the Keynote app on both; you can simply copy and paste elements directly between the two.

Things that worked:

• The entire slide (copy&pasting from the thumbnail view in Keynote)
  • Images
  • Text

Shapes did not work, though if they have any text in them that will copy to iBooks Author.

This may or may not work with older versions of the OS's and apps. I can't test, having upgraded everything.

Second Best Option: