I need help with my new camera please?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by SweetPoison, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Hey Guys ~

    Here's the deal. I connected the camera to my computer and then it did its thing and installed the drivers and program needed to transfer the pictures from the camera.

    But look at this:

    "To begin transferring images into [ib]:

    To begin the transfer:
    if your images are located on a camera, attach it to your computer (if necessary, turn the camera on). The Transfer Media window launches automatically.
    if the Transfer Media window does not display when you attached your camera, select File - Transfer Images from Camera from the menu.
    "


    I got this from the Help menu, The Transfer Media window does NOT launch auto, so you go File and select "Transfer Images from Camera"

    It is all very easy.

    BUT ~ When I go to File, the "Transfer Images From Camera" is not highlighted. It is not an option!!


    WTF?


    Seems like this program from this camera only gives me the option to transfer photos from MY COMPUTER, only!


    I think that the program isn't reading the camera, for some reason. Then I read to turn on the camera, but that is not an option, as it is charging when you hook it to the computer!


    I so need help please:(
     
  2. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133
    No One? I'm gonna eat worms and die. My Mom use to tell us that. Well I am going to uninstall the program and reinstall it ~ for lack of anything else I can think of:(


    And I am being ignored. Forgotten. I'm not gettin that special warm and fuzzy feelin, here guys.
     
  3. j0yful

    j0yful
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    22
    HI MARIE,
    I usually transfer images from my camera to pc by just choosing "computer" over the "start" options on pc. From there you can access your camera's memory stick/card.

    I hope this helps.
     
  4. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Hi Joy! No, that didn't help actually.:( I tried that and went into Computer and there is no "memory stick"

    This camera is hooked up with an USB cord to the computer, and then it sets up the program thingy.

    It is just like any other camera I ever had. So, after when you plug the camera into the computer you hear a few little bleeps, which tells you the window should open and ask you if you want to install all of the F* pictures! LOL!

    Well ~ the window does open, but that option is not there.
     
  5. j0yful

    j0yful
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    22
    did you check compatibility? like it does run with your pc's os?

    did you restart after installing?
     
  6. Hasty

    Hasty
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Most modern cameras show up as a removable drive with the photos in the dcim folder.
    Tbh never installed manufacturers software as it's always been unnecessary (usually crippled commercial software).
    Err just make sure your camera is turned on and pc transfer selected :)
     
  7. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    First of all, what brand and model camera do you have?

    And I am with j0y and Hasty. Here is what they are talking about --

    [​IMG]

    When you plug in your camera and turn it on, it should show up as a new drive. Mine shows up as NikonD40 (But yours will be different). Under that, you should see a folder named DCIM and under that, another folder with a name that will vary by camera brand and model. When I click on the folder with the arrow pointing to it, that's where my pictures are.
     
  8. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133

    Yes and yes.
     
  9. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133

    Yes. But I think the problem is that the camera doesn't turn ON, Hasty. It just charges and charges!!


    In charging mode, and it is all ready 100% charged!

    Damnit:mad:.
     
  10. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    133

    The camera is Olympus Stylus 7030.

    And you are right. I looked for it there too, Scott! In Computer. And it is NOT there. But the Icon is on deskstop, to the program where my pictures SHOULD open, just like all the other cameras I have had.


    I am confused.:(


    This camera is useless If I can't get the pictures on my computer!
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

how do i connect my olympus stylus camera to my ipad

,

how do i transfer photos from olymlus stylus sh50 to ipad