I have Google Ukraine rather than Google Minnesota

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Smorton, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. Smorton

    Smorton
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was on a vacation in the Ukraine with my son this summer. He took over my Ipad 4 for a short time. Now months later My Google appears at Google Ukraine and many of my searches are in a foreign language.

    Like the Ipad but not big on issues like this.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks

    Smorton
     
  2. Smorton

    Smorton
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dumb question?

    SM
     
  3. The OB

    The OB
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,617
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Not dumb at all really. But maybe a tad impatient in terms of our rules...

    Rule 4.3 Do not "bump" a post to attract attention to it. If, after 48 hours, you have not received a response on a question you may bump your post one (1) time. If you still do not receive a response send a private message (PM) to a moderator and ask for assistance. Bumping posts may subject the post to deletion.

    We have more than 300,000 members all over the world, well outside of Minnesota, many of whom may be willing to help but who could well be sleeping due to time zone differences and thus not able to jump onto your question, which may also require a bit of time for consideration/research to fairly answer your question.

    There are many helpful members here who will no doubt be able to suggest a solution...in due course.
    Regards, Andrew







    Sent from Oz using Tapatalk
     
  4. Elizellen

    Elizellen
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Did he have the need to access ITunes store when using your Ipad? Maybe he changed the country inadvertently?
     
  5. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,551
    Thanks Received:
    9,508
    Afaik the App Store country has no influence on the language in Google's search. Google uses your IP address to get the right location.

    You can change the language in Safari, and there's no need to sign in somewhere.
    Open Google, tap the "Settings" icon:


    image-819795244.jpg

    Now choose "Search settings":


    image-935614100.jpg

    Here, tap "Languages", which will show you this:


    image-1624361280.jpg

    Choose the language you prefer and tap "Save".
     
    #5 J. A., Dec 28, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  6. Smorton

    Smorton
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am sorry about the impatience. I wasn't familar with the rule.

    Sadly, I can't get J.A's advice to work either. On my Ipad there is a place where you need to put in an address and everytime I do that I enter my US address or even USA and I get a prompt that I need to enter a valid Ukrainian address.

    Thanks though.

    SM
     
  7. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,551
    Thanks Received:
    9,508
    Could you post a screenshot (and of course hide personal information) of that place where you have to enter the address?
     
  8. Smorton

    Smorton
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can change the language to English but when I change the location I get this.

    SMredacted image.jpg
     
  9. MoonlitSonata

    MoonlitSonata
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,390
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Have you tried changing google to google.com rather than google.com.ua?
     
  10. Smorton

    Smorton
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No, but I will. I didn't even notice that.

    Thanks

    SM
     

Share This Page