I can't Tether my iPad

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Mipp34, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. Mipp34
    Offline

    Mipp34 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My computer that I was using to boot tethered with got a surge and is now fried.I am now using another computer in which I had to download the firmware again and Redsn0w along with iTunes. Redsn0w can't see the firmware. I am now using a pc that is running windows 7 instead of vista. Redsn0w runs and initializes just fine, but the ios is not recognized when I go to that folder, is there something that I am doing wrong? Any help would be awesome, can't wait to get back into my iPad.
  2. Taylor263621
    Offline

    Taylor263621 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  3. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Are you sure it hasn't been downloaded as a zip file or something like that? Maybe just needs to be renamed?
  4. Mipp34
    Offline

    Mipp34 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That is exactly where I downloaded the firmware from, if I have to rename it what do I rename it to?
  5. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    just make sure it has an ipsw file extension and redsn0w will be able to see it...
    also, are you sure you have downloaded the iPad firmware... it must be for iPad, not iPhone etc.
  6. JohnBoyWonder
    Offline

    JohnBoyWonder iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hardhill City
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  7. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I know some people have to run redsnow as an administrator or run it in xp compatibility mode in windows 7.
  8. Mipp34
    Offline

    Mipp34 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    when I unzip my files it looks nothing like your picture.... It use to look exactly like that from my other computer, but on this one I can not get it to work. Any thoughts?

    Attached Files:

  9. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    That is definitely not the firmware. If you upgraded to 4.2.1 with iTunes then you should have the firmware on your computer. In win 7 it is in Documents and Settings\<User>\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates. That is the firmware you use for redsnow. Can you attach a higher resolution picture of that window, so we can read the filenames?
  10. JohnBoyWonder
    Offline

    JohnBoyWonder iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hardhill City
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  11. Mipp34
    Offline

    Mipp34 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Finally got it, I just had to rename the firmware so that it ended in .ispw- not .zip. That was aggravating, thanks everyone for all the help!!
  12. Mipp34
    Offline

    Mipp34 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You were dead on the money, thank you soooo much!!!!!!!

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cant tether my iphone to my ipad

,

old ipads cant tether?

,

why can't i tether my iphone to my ipad

,

why cant i tether my iphone and ipad