I can't Tether my iPad

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Mipp34, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. Mipp34

    Mipp34
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My computer that I was using to boot tethered with got a surge and is now fried.I am now using another computer in which I had to download the firmware again and Redsn0w along with iTunes. Redsn0w can't see the firmware. I am now using a pc that is running windows 7 instead of vista. Redsn0w runs and initializes just fine, but the ios is not recognized when I go to that folder, is there something that I am doing wrong? Any help would be awesome, can't wait to get back into my iPad.
     
  2. Taylor263621

    Taylor263621
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    0
  3. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Are you sure it hasn't been downloaded as a zip file or something like that? Maybe just needs to be renamed?
     
  4. Mipp34

    Mipp34
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That is exactly where I downloaded the firmware from, if I have to rename it what do I rename it to?
     
  5. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    just make sure it has an ipsw file extension and redsn0w will be able to see it...
    also, are you sure you have downloaded the iPad firmware... it must be for iPad, not iPhone etc.
     
  6. JohnBoyWonder

    JohnBoyWonder
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
  7. graywolf

    graywolf
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I know some people have to run redsnow as an administrator or run it in xp compatibility mode in windows 7.
     
  8. Mipp34

    Mipp34
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    when I unzip my files it looks nothing like your picture.... It use to look exactly like that from my other computer, but on this one I can not get it to work. Any thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

    • firm.jpg
      firm.jpg
      File size:
      10.6 KB
      Views:
      110
  9. graywolf

    graywolf
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    That is definitely not the firmware. If you upgraded to 4.2.1 with iTunes then you should have the firmware on your computer. In win 7 it is in Documents and Settings\<User>\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates. That is the firmware you use for redsnow. Can you attach a higher resolution picture of that window, so we can read the filenames?
     
  10. JohnBoyWonder

    JohnBoyWonder
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

cant tether my iphone to my ipad

,

old ipads cant tether?

,

why can't i tether my iphone to my ipad

,

why cant i tether my iphone and ipad