I am new to Apple products

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by biigsis, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. biigsis
    Offline

    biigsis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am hoping someone can help me resolve my problem with my iPad. I was online and my screen went blank. When I started up again I had the outline of a text box around the numbers I was attempting to enter to sign on with my pass code. I can not use the iPad at all.
  2. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,444
    Thanks Received:
    775
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +831 / 0
    Hello and welcome to the forum! :) Please look @ the quote below and go immediately to the 'Reset' directions and give that a try; if not effective, then post back here for further advice - Dave

    • Like Like x 1
  3. biigsis
    Offline

    biigsis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for your quick reply, giradman, but I am not even able to get to that point now. I can not access my iPad at all. Anytime I attempt to enter or respond to "slide to open" or anything like that the text box outline appears.
  4. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10,914
    Thanks Received:
    2,882
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 2
    Hi biigsis! Welcome to iPF!

    Are you able to enter the passcode/do you see a keyboard as well?

    Perhaps you could post a screenshot. To take a screenshot, press both Home and Power button simultaneously and shortly. You'll hear a shutter sound and find the screenshot in your Photos app.
    This will help us figuring out what's going on on your iPad, and it'll make helping you easier.

    Btw: number 2 and 3 from giradman's post can be done in any case, even if you're not able to access your iPad.
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014
  5. leelai
    Offline

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,853
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,353 / 0
    Hi and welcome to the Forum!

    Yes do a reset as outlined in Giradman's post......let us know how you go.

    The IPad Forum is a community of members from all walks of life and from all over the world coming together to share our experiences and to help each other learn about this wonderful piece of technology the Ipad. There is a wealth of information already here in the many threads we have so doing some searches will answer most of the questions you have. If then you cannot find the answer you are seeking then by all means post your question. There are many friendly and informed members here only too willing to help you.

    We also have our own App - It is a very simple app to navigate.
    http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/discussion-forum-for-ipad/id412896524?mt=8
    Tutorial for our App
    http://www.ipadforums.net/new-membe...sistance/107524-ipad-forums-app-tutorial.html
    Tutorial on creating posts on the Forum
    http://www.ipadforums.net/new-membe...-creating-posts-starting-new-threads-how.html
    Reading the IPad manual is a great place to start so please download a copy of these.
    http://www.support.apple.com/manuals/ipad/
    3 very informative threads from which you will learn many tips and shortcuts for the IPad.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-general-discussions/21590-tips-tricks-those-us-who-dont-know.html
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-os/49581-ios5-tips-tricks.html
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-help...shortcuts-helpful-places-people-new-ipad.html
    We have rules like any Community so please read these also
    http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rul...um-rules-everybody-please-read.html#post14697

    Once again we welcome you here and are so pleased you have joined us!
  6. biigsis
    Offline

    biigsis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi J.A. and thank you for your response. I am able to get the passcode screen but that is as far as I can get. A number pad shows on the screen and when I press a number a text box outline shows around that number but nothing happens. If I power off/on I get the screen that instructs me to slide along the bottom to unlock the screen and when I do that a long thin text box outline appears and once again no response. If I can successfully take a screen shot I have no way of retrieving it and I have done as giradman suggested numerous times but the results are always the same.
  7. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10,914
    Thanks Received:
    2,882
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 2
    Of course, I didn't think of that. Sorry!
    If resetting and restarting don't help, there's nothing else left than to restore your iPad, afaik: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1414
    • Like Like x 1
  8. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4,333
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +88 / 0
    Welcome aboard and hopefully you are able to resolve your issue...
  9. biigsis
    Offline

    biigsis iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Problem resolved.........

    Thanks everyone for sending all your suggestions. I went to Walmart (purchased online from them) and the clerk just hit the home button 3 times and it cleared the text box outlines. Funny thing was she was just shown that trick this morning on an iPhone.
  10. leelai
    Offline

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,853
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,353 / 0
    Well that's great to hear and thank you for letting us know.

    The iPad can be set with certain features which are activated by pressing the home button 3 times. It's very easy to do without realising it.

    So have a look in Settings - General - Accessibility. I'm thinking you have one of these features set, so have a look on this page to see if anything is turned on. If you go down to the bottom - Accessibility Shortcut - this will show you which setting is on.....then go back and turn it off.

    I'm thinking it's the Switch Control Setting which is doing this.

    Let us know if this was so.

Share This Page