HP Mini won't connect to internet

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by SweetPoison, Aug 27, 2011.

  1. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    For some reason my HP Mini won't connect to the internet. It says below on the right side that my Wireless Internet Connected is connected at Excellent strength.

    Why won't it allow me to go on line? Annoying the hell out of me, man.:mad:
     
  2. DrHouse

    DrHouse iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    When being connected, and not having access to the internet, you'll have to check these out:

    - is your HP mini have an ip address assigned?
    - if you have an IP address from the router, do you have a DNS server assigned?
    - does the gateway address is the one from your router?
    - do you have any static ip address in your network that could conflict with the ip address provided by the dhcp server from your router
    - is there a proxy in use to access the internet

    Assuming that your router is configured at 192.168.1.1:

    - ip address should be 192.168.1.x
    - DNS server could be 192.168.1.1, using the router as a relay for your actual ISP DNS servers
    - gateway is always the router, 192.168.1.1

    In Windows, open a console "Run...", type in "cmd" and a console should show up... Then type in the command "ipconfig". It will give you your current ip address and gateway... If all looks good in there, then this is a DNS problem or a conflict with a static ip address in your network.

    Have a look in your router on the configuration of the DHCP server and check th range used by it (100-255)... Also have a look in your router for currently used DNS servers and if the router is acting as a relay for those.

    I'll wait for your results...

    VicoPad addict!
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011
  3. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Seriously? I'm thinkin you don't speak Marie? Which is California Blonde Simple, Doc.

    I will review what you stated and get back to you. My mini always did connect, so I don't know why it isn't now.:(
     
  4. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Marie, have you tried the age old cure for PC's......switch it off then switch it back on again?

    The Archangel
     
  5. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Believe it or not, yes I did.;):eek: I don't use my Mini much, so when I do, I have a few updates to do ~ so yes, I did turn it off more than once.

    I just don't get it. I have a lot of month end reports to do and I want to work on my couch ~ since I can use my flash in it. I just would like to know why it is doing this....
     
  6. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    The F word, thread clos.........oh no, I'd better not!

    Is it close enough to your router to plug an ethernet cable in, I seem to remember doing this years ago (sometime around the Jurassic period when I last owned a PC) then when I disconnected the Ethernet all was well again.

    Another option is to delete your router settings then reconnect.

    I'm not much help am I!

    The Archangel
     
  7. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    I meant my flash drive thingy! I am afraid to mess with my router settings, babe. I don't wanna mess up my iPad and computer connections. It really isn't all that important.

    I just have my iPad here too. Not getting any work done!
     
  8. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Just remember that the fact that you are getting a strong signal from your router is only a measure of the wifi signal, not your broadband.

    Simply put, a highway construction company accidentally cut through our broadband connection a few weeks back, it took me ages to realise because although I had no Internet I had a strong signal on all of my devices/computers.

    Maybe you need to play a couple of levels of Rage HD!

    The Archangel
     
  9. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Guns!

    That'll work.:D
     
  10. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Look at that teensy weeny exclamation mark! I left it out.

    Too funny.
     
  11. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Lol......you know, for the last 24 hours my broadband has been so slow it's like trying to suck concrete through a straw!

    The Archangel
     
  12. The Alternative

    The Alternative iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Reboot the router... like many here, it's probably lost its mind.
     
  13. DrHouse

    DrHouse iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    :)! This is the basic checklist for any network related problem...

    That's assuming that you rebooted everything... Including the router. If it still does not work after rebooting, which seems to be the case, then these are the steps to find out the source of the issue.

    I could have said just to reboot, but then you would have come back saying it did not work. This is a 5 min checklist that will save hours of fiddling, tweaking and searching.

    VicoPad addict!
     
  14. ipadbraincell

    ipadbraincell iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I'd try lowering off the router, then power it back up again.
     
  15. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Oh that is hilarious!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

hp mini won't connect to wifi

,

hp mini won't connect to wireless internet

,
hp mini wont connect to wifi
,
hp mini wont connect to wireless internet
,
mini ipad won't connect to internet
,
my hp mini won't connect to the internet
,
my hp mini won't connect to the wireless
,
my hp mini wont connect to the internet
,

my hp mini wont connect to wifi

,
why wont my hp mini connect to the internet