What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to turn off the popup keyboard

jgoff

iPF Noob
Reaction score
When using a BT ext. keyboard (Dell), is there a way to keep the popup keyboard from cluttering the screen. I obviously don't need it when I have a physical keyboard.

I'm using the BTstack Keyboard (because I'm also using BTstack Mouse).

I'm a IPAD newbie so I don't know where to look for a tweak that controls the behavior of the on screen keyboard popup.

I am quite pleased to be able to use a standard keyboard & mouse with my IPAD2. Removing this one last annoyance would really make my day.

Thanks for advice on this matter.

-Jim

P.S. Please avoid commenting on the morality of using a mouse with a tablet. Once one resorts to an external keyboard, it's a bit foolish to use anything but. Thanks.

jsh1120

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hmmm....Are you saying that both the bluetooth physical keyboard and the onscreen keyboard are simultaneously active? I haven't had this problem with either the Apple Wireless Keyboard or the Microsoft 6000 Bluetooth Portable keyboard. Once paired, the onscreen keyboard disappears when I turn the physical keyboard on.

This happens even if the onscreen keyboard is "up" when I'm in an app that expects entry. The onscreen keyboard simply disappears when I turn on the physical keyboard. So are you sure your physical keyboard is turned on when this happens? (Apologies if that's a more than obvious issue to you already.)