1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

How to tell what app is being used

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by silvia33, Dec 1, 2011.

  1. silvia33
    Offline

    silvia33 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    It would be nice to have the app name in the menu bar, like on a Mac. Anyway to do that?
  2. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    That's an odd request. What about those apps that are full screen and don't use any standard or non standard menu bars?
    And, wouldn't it be kinda obvious what app you're currently using?
  3. silvia33
    Offline

    silvia33 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I don't like apps that go full screen. I resize them. Sometimes I'm using an app and it switches me to another, so where am I? I guess is mostly for esthetic reasons and that I'm used to seeing the name of the app I'm using.
  4. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    You "resize" apps? Curious, how do you go about doing that?
  5. silvia33
    Offline

    silvia33 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I'm talking about a Mac. I either click on the top left most right button or use the right lower corner of the window. Once the window is resized the program remembers it next time I use it. Of course this is not possible on the iPad. Something I do miss, but...
  6. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    Got it...thought you had found some secret feature. :) Since this is an iPad forum, most folks expect comments to be about the iPad unless otherwise indicated. Thanks for the clarification.

Share This Page