How to set website links on home screen with Atomic Web Browser?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by jsherk, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. jsherk
    Offline

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hi

    On an iPad 1, I was able to create links on the Home screen that will open Safari and go directly to that page.

    Is there a way to do that so it opens using Atomic Web Browser instead of Safari? I have paid version of Atomic Web Browser.

    Thanks
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,516
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,899 / 0
    Nope, sorry.

    Not until/unless you jailbreak - Safari is the default browser on a "stock" iPad.

    On a jailbroken iPad, you'd still have to set the links via Safari, but then when you select them from your homescreen, they open in your pre-set default browser.

    Sorry 'bout that. If you're on an iPad1, go for the JB! :D If you're on an iPad2 - hand in there ... JB's coming.

    Marilyn
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  3. jsherk
    Offline

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ok, thanks mickey330 ... I was thinking I might have to jailbreak, so that will be my next project over the weekend!

    Thanks
  4. Sk1zb1t
    Offline

    Sk1zb1t iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hey marilyn, i've got a jailbroken ipad 1 using atomic web (paid version) and browserchanger, yet my mail links and links from friendly etc still open in safari. any clues? cheers, nath
  5. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,516
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,899 / 0
    Apologies for pointing out the obvious, but ...

    Have you both enabled BrowserChanger and selected Atomic Web browser as the default (in the Settings app)?

    I have to ask because honestly? If that's not your problem, I don't know what's wrong 'cause mine works perfectly (as does its companion SBSettings toggle).

    If it's not the obvious, sing out and we'll try to figure it out...

    Marilyn
  6. jsherk
    Offline

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Once I enabled browser changer and set Atomic as default I had to REBOOT my iPad before it took effect. Hold down power button for 4 or 5 seconds and it will ask you if you want to shut down. Once shut down, hold down power button for 4 or 5 seconds again to start back up. Then it should work.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
atomic browser clear quick links
,

atomic browser delete quick link

,
atomic browser iphone remove homepages
,

atomic browser remove quick link

,
atomic browser start up links
,
atomic web browser edit quick links
,
atomic web browser how to delete saved pages
,

atomic web browser quick links

,

atomic web delete quick link

,

atomic web remove quick link

,
atomicwebbrowser home
,
clear atomic web browser quick link
,
delete quick link atomic web
,
delete quicklink in atomic browser
,
edit quick links atomic browser
,
how to delete quick links in atomic web
,
how to edit atomic web start page
,
how to remove quick links on atomic
,
remove quick link atomic web browser
,
set homepage atomic web browser