How to properly restore ipad for selling?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Zergslayer69, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. Zergslayer69

    Zergslayer69
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I read somewhere that even if you restore your ipad, when you set it up again it'll ask that you log into the itunes account previously attached to the device. Is there a proper way of formatting and resetting the ipad for selling?
     
  2. dwhygienist

    dwhygienist
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks Received:
    2
    when i was scrolling through settings, under iTunes at the bottom is a reset section. Go through the sections and at the bottom there are resets to original settings that erase previous accounts and passwords as well as reset bottom on back of device
     
  3. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,899
    Thanks Received:
    9,960
    Before you reset your iPad, it's important to disable "Find my iPad" in iCloud.
    That done, erase all content and settings.
     
  4. Zergslayer69

    Zergslayer69
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Do I need to remove all my accounts from the device? imessage,icloud, etc etc also?

    And is it sufficient enough to just hit restore in itunes while connected to the computer? I just don't want to have the buyer to come back and say "hey what's your password" after.
     
  5. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    27,064
    Thanks Received:
    8,666
    erasing all content and settings, after turning off find my iPhone, will delete everything you added to the iPad and will leave it in the same state it was in when you purchased it.
     
  6. cecilrwilliams

    cecilrwilliams
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I am concern now after reading this thread.

    I took my iPad 3 to Apple Store and they replaced it. I actually was required to do the restore; however, I did not know that I should turn Find My Phone off, nor did the service rep advise me.

    Can my information be subject to compromise now?
     
  7. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,899
    Thanks Received:
    9,960
    Obviously erasing content and settings is all you have to do. See the instructions from Apple Support: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5661
    So there's no need to worry.
     
  8. Zergslayer69

    Zergslayer69
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Outstanding thanks for the definitive answer
     
  9. cecilrwilliams

    cecilrwilliams
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Thanks. Just concerned I missed a step.
     
  10. dwhygienist

    dwhygienist
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Worked for me- I disabled find my iPhone and then just went into erase settings and then realized I never went to clear my account- i was afraid my Id was still there so i re-set it and then deleted in the above said order( overkill it turns out) I still saw both of my iPads in iTunes listed but after turning off my computer and restarting it, only the new one shows up now
     

Share This Page