What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to organize by subject?

Escadajr

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to iPad (in fact, it's my first Apple device) and haven't found yet a way to organize my data by subject. For example, I have a lot of things about guitar: videos, documents, images, mp3... How can I put all this together for an integrated access?

By far, I have music sheets in iGuitar app, musics in iPod app, videos in the iMovie app, books in iBook app... Mixed with all other subject files. I would love to be able to put all my guitar files in a place name "Guitar", no matter the file type, and just open them as I needed.

A few Explorer-like apps promise to do this (Berokyo, for example), but they just have an "Open In" option that copies the file to the corresponding app space. This is not so clever, it doubles the used space and takes a long time for videos. Some apps copy the same file every time you ask to open it, making several copies of the same thing. And not all file types are handled, even if the corresponding app is installed.

Any suggestion? Thanks!

Reaction score
Escadajr said:
Hi! I'm new to iPad (in fact, it's my first Apple device) and haven't found yet a way to organize my data by subject. For example, I have a lot of things about guitar: videos, documents, images, mp3... How can I put all this together for an integrated access?

By far, I have music sheets in iGuitar app, musics in iPod app, videos in the iMovie app, books in iBook app... Mixed with all other subject files. I would love to be able to put all my guitar files in a place name "Guitar", no matter the file type, and just open them as I needed.