How to decrease general volume?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Timey, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. Timey
    Offline

    Timey iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Italy
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I everyone! I'm an iPad 1 user or at least used to be, a few days ago, My father passed me his iPad 2 since he bought the iPad 3 and I find myself woth a slight problem, there are two volume settings, one is the nromal volume and the other one is some sort of ringtone volume, not sure if the aords are correct, I only saw if a couple of times but I found it to be really disturbing, when I turn up one i wanna turn both up, not one at a time, is there a way to merge them so that if i turn. Random one down they all turn down? Even a cydia app perhaps? Thanks everyone, I hope I made myself clear and sorry for my bad english, still practicing.
  2. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,383
    Thanks Received:
    2,294
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,655 / 1
    Sorry,the volume buttons on the iPad cannot be used to adjust the ringtone volume,at least on a stock iPad.
    Sorry,I was incorrect,see Mickey330's answer in the next post.

    image-2781893600.jpg
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  3. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,516
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,899 / 0
    Sorry, scifan, but if you turned that button you pointed to to ON - the phrase below would then read "The volume of the ringer and alerts can be adjusted using the volume buttons."

    So, turn it on and the volume of everything will be controlled by the buttons. Leaving it off is what keeps the alerts and ringer separatr from the volume buttons.

    Marilyn
  4. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,383
    Thanks Received:
    2,294
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,655 / 1
    I just tried what you suggested and I discovered that while the volume buttons can indeed control the ringtone volume,they can't control the audio volume at the same time. If I have audio playing while I'm on the sounds page in settings,the volume buttons only change the audio volume. I had to pause the audio before the volume buttons would control the ringtone volume. Is there a way to control the audio and ringtone volume simultaneously with the volume buttons? I believe that this is what the OP was asking about.
  5. Timey
    Offline

    Timey iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Italy
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yes, that's exactly what I'm looking for, couldn't put it the way you did though sorry.
  6. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,516
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,899 / 0
    No, sorry. If the button on/off didn't do what you wanted it to do, then I'm afraid that was the only thing that could have been done. Sorry.

    I think this was more of a thing for the iPhone (so you wouldn't turn down the phone ringer so you couldn't hear it). There may be something in Cydia (the jail breaker's "app store"), but I've not heard of anything.

    Sorry to be of no help ... and to have raised false hopes...

    Marilyn
  7. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,661
    Thanks Received:
    2,114
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,484 / 1
    This is exactly what the control is supposed to do. If you turn it on, ringer and system sounds will go up and down with the volume buttons. If it is not working, something is wrong.

    I did test it. It works fine, as long as background music is not playing. Matter of fact, if you go to the sound settings and adjust the volume (with the option on), it turns off background music. Must be a bug.


    Edit: Interesting. As soon as I left settings, my background music started playing again. Maybe it is a "feature" instead. ;)
  8. ryanlawrence171
    Offline

    ryanlawrence171 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Absolutely right, Volume button is used to adjust ringtone volume in iPad. It’s available in iPhone only…

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cydia decrease volume