How to add contacts on ipad2?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by linda3011, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. linda3011
    Offline

    linda3011 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Katoomba
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    I have an ipad2 and I'm using iso5, now I can't work out how to add contacts in the contacts app?? There is no plus button anywhere?

    Am I looking in the wrong spot? I want to add numbers so I can iMessage from my iPad.

    Thanks

    EDIT: Per this post, enabling iCloud (more here) appears to resolve this issue.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 16, 2011
  2. pernille k
    Offline

    pernille k iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Unable to Add New Contacts

    For some reason I have no way of editing my contacts after I upgrad to OS5. The buttons that said "edit" is simply not there anymore. The only option I have is to send contact. I can't even make a new contact to my list.. Anyone facing the same problem? Please help. -Pernille
  3. linda3011
    Offline

    linda3011 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Katoomba
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Me!!! I am too having this problem! I posted a question earlier about this - its driving me crazy :(

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  4. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    There should be a "+" button at the bottom of the left-hand page...

    Contacts_main_image.png

    Click on that and you can add a new contact.
  5. linda3011
    Offline

    linda3011 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Katoomba
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No, I don't have that - but I used to have it before I upgraded software this week?

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  6. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    Hmmm...I upgraded to iOS 5 on the 12th and that's what my Contact App looks like. So it's blank in that area? Odd.

    Restarting the iPad can fix most issues. Hold down the power switch (outside edge) by itself until the red slider appears. Turn it off by sliding the switch and then once again hold down the power switch until the Apple logo appears.


    Resetting the iPad should be reserved for a non-responsive unit as it addresses other activity but if restarting doesn't do it, resetting it might. Hold down the power switch and home button until the slider appears on the screen and shut it down. Hold down the power switch again until the Apple logo appears. Fully booting up from a reset will take a little longer than a restart.


    More here:


    iPhone, iPad, iPod touch: Turning off and on (restarting) and resetting


    Let us know if that helps. Others may have some more suggestions as well.
  7. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    Since this is the same topic, threads were merged with a redirect to the original.
  8. linda3011
    Offline

    linda3011 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Katoomba
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks - I have done this several times before and no luck.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  9. pernille k
    Offline

    pernille k iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same problem here.. The "+" button was there befo I upgrated.. Now there is nothing..
  10. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    I have the button too.


    The Archangel
  11. linda3011
    Offline

    linda3011 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Katoomba
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No, still no 'plus' sign. I k ow where it SHOULD be, but it's not here.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  12. DefBref
    Offline

    DefBref iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Egremont
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Have you enabled iCloud, I think since ios5 you need a iCloud account for contacts editing and creation.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    Hadn't thought about that. Even if iCloud is set up, the setting to sync Contacts might also need to be switched to "On". Although I went into my iPad's iCloud settings and turned it off and the "+" is still in my Contacts App.
  14. linda3011
    Offline

    linda3011 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Katoomba
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thankyou!!!! This fixed it perfectly :) I can now add and edit contacts :)

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  15. pernille k
    Offline

    pernille k iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It worked!!! Thanks!!! Fantastik....
  16. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    That's excellent! I've taken the liberty of editing the original post for those that follow...very helpful DefBref!
  17. barastiboy
    Offline

    barastiboy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dubai
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the button but for all my numbers If I try to add someone to send a message to it comes up with xxxx is not registered with imessage
  18. richsadams
    Offline

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,504
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    Welcome to the forum! There are a lot of great people here willing to lend a hand anytime. Often using the Search box (at the top-left of every page) will lead you to the answers you're looking for. If not, feel free to post a question in the appropriate area.

    Please take a moment to view the information here to get the most out of your iPad as well as our forum:


    Forum Rules - Please read
    Hacking Rules - Please read
    iPad for Beginners
    Free iPad User Manuals
    Download The Official iPad Forum App


    With regard to your question...as previously mentioned, iMessage only works between iDevices (iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch). The other person also has to have upgraded to iOS 5 on their iDevice. If you get the "not registered" error, that means that all of that criteria has not been met (at least yet). More here:

    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/ipad_user_guide.pdf

    (iMessage = Page 47)


    Apple - iOS 5 - See new features included in iOS 5.

    Welcome again and enjoy!
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2011
  19. Terryj
    Offline

    Terryj iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks from me too. Works great now.
  20. Randomperson
    Offline

    Randomperson iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    America
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i know how to

    you can't do it directly on contacts, but go in "mail", type in an email, once a blue bubble forms around it, double tap it until it says, "create existing contact" and then you can add all their stuff, and you can edit by doing exactly what you did to make the contact, instead, select "add to contact". worked for me!

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
add contact to ipad 2
,
add contacts to ipad no plus sign
,
cannot add email adress to ipad 2
,
cant add no info on ipad contacts
,
cant find my contacts on ipad2
,
how do i add contacts on ipad without the sign
,
how do i register contacts with im on ipad
,
how to add a contact on ipad2
,
how to add contact using an ipad 2
,
how to add contacts on apple ipad2
,

how to add contacts on ipad 2

,
how to add contacts on ipad2
,
how to add contacts to imessage on ipad 2
,

how to add contacts to ipad 2

,
how to add contacts to ipad no plus sign
,
how to add new contact to imessage on ipad
,
no add button on ipad contacts
,
no contacts in ipad
,
using an ipad2 how do i add an email contact
,
where is the contacts button in hotmal on an ipad 2