1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

How much RAM

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by charm, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. charm
    Offline

    charm iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Will the iPad 4 continue tradition of doubling amount of ram. 1 had 256MB 2 had 512MB 3 had 1GB. Apple never releases RAM so usually we need to wait for a tech article to bit and dissect. If it does have 2GB then windows and androids are doomed and power users can finally have a robust iPad
  2. dvboy
    Offline

    dvboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    GOOD question,very curious to see what it has,something tells me it will still be 1GB,otherwise Apple would have announced it.Hope I am wrong,as I will be purchasing one when available.
  3. dvboy
    Offline

    dvboy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
  4. Jachrist
    Offline

    Jachrist iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I saw somewhere today where someone said it was a 1.3ghz...

    I'll look for the link
  5. charm
    Offline

    charm iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Okay finally got specs: 1GB LPDDR2 RAM. Plus twice the CPU performance and twice the graphics performance over ipad3 due to ARM cortex A15 Eagle engine
    Charm
  6. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    I was going to bet my money on 1GB... :)
  7. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Where did you get this RAM spec? It hasn't streeted yet so how can anyone know for sure?
  8. charm
    Offline

    charm iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Elementary my dear AQ
    Apple announced the ipad4 will use it's A6 Extreme (A6X) processor which is the same one in the iPhone 5. Both chip works and fix it have broken down this new A6 so those are the specs I gave. Granted their could be clock speed differences ( the 1.5 GHz figure posted on this thread by a victim of Apple's successful campaign to eliminate any understanding of RAM and conflate memory with storage ) that only a breakdown can prove. But it can't be the 2 GB some hoped for.
    With the new memory management of IOS6 , the 1 GB will still deliver a great experience.
    Charm
  9. buerkletucson
    Offline

    buerkletucson iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    Glad it's elementary for someone. :eek:
    I must have gone to the wrong school.....
  10. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    That seems a little contradictory. In your opening post stated - "If it does have 2GB then .... power users can finally have a robust iPad".

    As something of a power user myself, I don't recognise that I do not currently own a robust iPad (and I own them all). Nor do I recognise that IOS memory management has taken a significant step up in efficiency from IOS5 to IOS6 (I am also an IOS developer, and therefore some level of experience on which to base my opinion).

    The iPhone 5 runs on the A6, not the A6X. Different processors based on the same architecture family. You cannot simply make the statement that they are the "same", unless there is a little conflation going on at your end...

    It's pretty obvious there MUST be clock speed differences. Otherwise Apples claims relating to performance simply could not be achieved. I certainly wouldn't go against Ars Technica's logic until we get a device torn down and analysed - Deducing details about Apple’s A6X processor | Ars Technica ;)
  11. charm
    Offline

    charm iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The breakdown will show who knows what here. Plus I never said iOS 6 managed memory better. If it did the we iPad 1 users could get it. Ios6 locks up even more RAM.
    I have no quarrel with ars tech just waiting for a breakdown but I will stand by my prediction of 1GB As for robust power user, guess we have different definitions I saw how heated the RAM discussion on macrumors forum got with uncivil postings on the need for a minimum of 1GB and don,t intend to repeat the good points or elicit the flames
    Reasonable people can disagree without being disagreeable. When my prediction is validated, you may wish to reevaluate your opinions. No point in arguing
    You do a good job in keeping this forum civil and I can easily wait a few weeks to be proven correct or else confess error
    Charm
  12. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    612
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0
    f4780y [​IMG] is spot on. Just vetted Ars Technical analsys. Their assumptions and extrapolations are well within the bounds of both reason and technical capabilities.

    And 2GB of RAM would be a waste of time and battery life. iOS already has one of the best memory managers for application load and unloading I have seen. Of course using an Unix based OS that has been around for decades helps ;)
  13. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Not arguing your logic, but your post says you "finally got specs" and I asked from where you got them. Turns out you are just guessing. If you guess, say so and give you logic. It is not proper behavior to give the impression that you found the actual specs some place when you did not. Some would even call that lying.
  14. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    You'll excuse me for thinking you did, based on the quote?
  15. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    612
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0
    Where to start? Oh, right here....

    Sorry. You apparently don't understand the nature of how applications run in iOS. Because the iPad 1s issue has to do with the APPLICATION size not the OS size or capabilities. A brief primer on the subject to bring you up to speed.

    An application under iOS, under most design conditions, loads almost everything into memory when possible. The reason for that is to minimize battery usage. Every time the OS has to go from the disk to RAM it wastes battery power. So if the application size is over 256 megabytes, that means there will be a ton of paging going on that is doing nothing more than eating battery. So if we take into account that the iOS core has to be in memory, that means we are already dealing with less memory and more paging. That is why the iPad 1 had to be shelved for future iOS upgrades. It was simply under powered for the explosion of apps that were to come. Heck you would be better of blaming the iPad users hunger for better apps than blaming Apple.


    Can't blame you for that one. 1GB already has a huge power requirement. Going to 2GB has little benefit to the current iOS or applications on the market and would require even more power.
  16. charm
    Offline

    charm iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    AQ

    Some might say that my use of the famous Sherlock Holmes expression made it clear that I "found " the specs thru a process of logical deduction
    Some other might even say only the obtuse would consider it lying
  17. charm
    Offline

    charm iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    F4780y

    It is excusable. But to an old guy like me who still misses DOS and edlin , new does not always mean improved. A more recent example would be thr new coke fiasco
  18. charm
    Offline

    charm iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Skull1

    Thanks for the iOS apps explication. That does not seem to bode well for ipad2 users with their 512MB for future better apps
  19. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    612
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0
    Ah yes, New Coke.....

    A ruse to allow them to switch from pure sugar to corn syrup. Such a sad time for cola drinkers in the US. Luckily my local store still carries Coke made in Mexico that uses the old formula with pure sugar.
  20. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    612
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0
    Yes and no. This becomes subjective, in a sense, because of the iPad mini. Once we find out how close the mini is to the iPad 2 in architecture, then we should be able to extrapolate the overall ramifications.

    Currently, I am of the opinion that the iPad mini will give the iPad 2 at least two more years of life from today.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how much memory do i need ipad 4
,
how much memory does ipad 4 have
,

how much memory does the ipad 4 have

,
how much memory in an ipad
,
how much memory in ipad
,

how much memory in ipad 4

,
how much ram does an ipad 4 have
,
how much ram does ipad 3 have
,

how much ram does ipad 4 have

,
how much ram does the ipad 3 have
,

how much ram does the ipad 4 have

,
how much ram in an ipad
,

how much ram in ipad

,

how much ram in ipad 4

,

how much ram ipad 4

,
how much ram is in the ipad
,

how much ram on ipad 4

,
how much ramm in ipad 4
,

ipad 4 ram

,

ipad4 ram