How much ram does ipad 4 have

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by smr336152001, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. smr336152001

    smr336152001
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have changed to iPhone 4 and just got ipad 4 woooooohhoooooo lovin life now
     
  2. leelai

    leelai
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,840
    Thanks Received:
    1,306
    Hi and welcome to the Forum!

    Just to give you a little more perspective on the Ram available on iPads. The iPad 1 had 256mb of ram, the iPad 2 has 512mb and the iPads 3 and 4 have 1 GB. That's really a huge jump. I have an iPad 2 and have never had a problem with it as far as this goes, but then I always do a little maintenance, ie closing apps completely each day and a restart about once a month.

    So glad you're loving your iPad!
     
  3. goldenmillion

    goldenmillion
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi I am a new iPad user. You mentioned that you closed your apps completely. May I ask how to do it? I normally just press the bottom middle button to go back to main screen. Any other way to close an app completely?
     
  4. Mickey330

    Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,876
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Yes. Either double-tap the Home button or do a four-finger swipe up on the screen - this will make the screen/dock rise to reveal apps in a mutli-task bar. If you press and hold those icons, they'll begin to wiggle and you'll see a red minus sign in the upper left of each icon. Press each icon's minus sign and it will disappear from the multi-task bar. When you are done, tap the top part of the screen to make it go back down.

    That fully closes out an app. It's still on the iPad, BTW, but not in the multi-tasker.

    Hope this clarifies.

    Marilyn
     
  5. cyndy

    cyndy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Wow, I didn't know that about the apps! Thanks. That reminds me about something else. I almost always do the 4 finger swipe. I just wonder how many times that button will hold up over millions of times using it. I have had repairmen saying they do have to replace them.
     
  6. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Many of those apps will get taken out of memory anyway....iOS removes background apps depending on function (if they aren't the type to multi-task) they will be removed. That when they show on that list it is for quick launching....sort of like a history of recently used apps.
     
  7. goldenmillion

    goldenmillion
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So you are saying that removing them or not in the multitasking bar (recent list) is immaterial as they will not occupy memory?
     
  8. Rlarson_mn

    Rlarson_mn
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I agree with you. 1gb is way way more than will be utilized by all but the most heavy users or someone that never ever stops any of their applications.
     
  9. leelai

    leelai
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,840
    Thanks Received:
    1,306
    All apps in your multi task bar are recently used apps, they are not running although there are exceptions with some apps, navigation and location based apps being an example of these. IOS will suspend apps within a few seconds when you tap the home button, but they can still be using some memory as to be ready to launch again when you need. When you launch another app which is memory intensive, IOS will kick these apps out of memory to free up more memory for your new app to run. They will still be shown in your multitask bar even though they can be totally inactive and not using memory at all.

    Well thats how it is meant to work but some apps do not behave like they should which is why it is a good idea to clear out your multi task bar regularly just so that you don't have a problem with apps crashing because of a memory issue. Hope this helps you.
     
  10. Mickeylittle

    Mickeylittle
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    261
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Even though 1gb may seem and even be enough it certainly has nothing to do with it just being a tablet, which is why some of the newer Android tablets/phones are now coming with 2gb and the extra gig is certainly making a difference.

    As a former jailbreaker I do remember that only having 256 megs was a cripplier on the iPad 1 and even 512 meg on the iPad 2 would get taxed quite often. The way to test was by having the available ram constantly showing on the top right bar along side the battery percentage. And on the iPad 1 it was really easy to drop it below 15 meg and thus start getting some random app closures.

    The iPad 2 was a lot better but not perfect by any means and by jumping in and out out apps you can drop the available ram into the danger zone. As for the 1gb of the newer iPads I can't say since I have remained stock however with the retina display, larger footprint of apps, etc. I would imagine the iPad 3 to be on par with the ipad 2 and as to how much the improved graphics and processor have helped the iPad 4, I would hope that it has been a great help but would need some jailbreakers to test both the iPad 3 and 4 for comparison.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
how much memory does the ipad 4 have
,
how much memory in ipad 4
,
how much ram does a ipad 4 have
,

how much ram does an ipad 4 have

,
how much ram does an ipad have
,

how much ram does ipad 4 have

,

how much ram does the ipad 4 have

,
how much ram in ipad 4
,
how much ram ipad
,
how much ram ipad 4