How much ram does ipad 4 have

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by smr336152001, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. smr336152001

    smr336152001 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How much ram does ipad4 have
     
  2. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    1gb.
     
  3. smr336152001

    smr336152001 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That sure doesnt seem like a lot
     
  4. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    It's plenty...it's a tablet running a mobile OS...not a PC.
     
  5. MoonlitSonata

    MoonlitSonata Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Good ol' Midwest
    Ratings:
    +159 / 0
    1GB of RAM is HUGE for a mobile device. Are you sure you're not confusing RAM and storage?
     
  6. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    1GB of ram is very little on a PC or a MAC. So, this confusing people who aren't familar with tablets.
     
  7. smr336152001

    smr336152001 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am not complaning just new to the ipad world this is a great tablet have always been a droid so I will never go back ipad forever. Woooohooooo
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 3, 2012
  8. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,741
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +576 / 1
    We understand that yes it can be confusing


    Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk in Australia
     
  9. AdmiralAdama

    AdmiralAdama Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    9,539
    Thanks Received:
    600
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Near the Ionian Nebula, still searching for Earth
    Ratings:
    +608 / 0
    Hello and Welcome to iPF.

    Your question about RAM is understandable. As you become familiar with your iPad you'll see that good things really do come on small packages. :)

    Please browse the site and use the "Search" function to help discover topics that interest you.

    When you get a moment please read the forum rules.

    http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rul...um-rules-everybody-please-read.html#post14697

    iPF is home to thousands of iOS enthusiasts and many spend considerable time helping other members get the most out of their investment.

    Enjoy.

    AdmiralAdama
    IPF Moderator Team Member

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF
     
  10. hookbill

    hookbill iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    If you have an android phone, don't be surprised if you start looking at the iPhone. I've had my iPhone 5 since 9/21. Just got my iPad fourth generation and loving that as well. It's amazing what difference the display makes. Reading books, playing games is just so clean.
     
  11. smr336152001

    smr336152001 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have changed to iPhone 4 and just got ipad 4 woooooohhoooooo lovin life now
     
  12. leelai

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,835
    Thanks Received:
    1,290
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,367 / 0
    Hi and welcome to the Forum!

    Just to give you a little more perspective on the Ram available on iPads. The iPad 1 had 256mb of ram, the iPad 2 has 512mb and the iPads 3 and 4 have 1 GB. That's really a huge jump. I have an iPad 2 and have never had a problem with it as far as this goes, but then I always do a little maintenance, ie closing apps completely each day and a restart about once a month.

    So glad you're loving your iPad!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. goldenmillion

    goldenmillion iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hi I am a new iPad user. You mentioned that you closed your apps completely. May I ask how to do it? I normally just press the bottom middle button to go back to main screen. Any other way to close an app completely?
     
  14. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,597
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,020 / 0
    Yes. Either double-tap the Home button or do a four-finger swipe up on the screen - this will make the screen/dock rise to reveal apps in a mutli-task bar. If you press and hold those icons, they'll begin to wiggle and you'll see a red minus sign in the upper left of each icon. Press each icon's minus sign and it will disappear from the multi-task bar. When you are done, tap the top part of the screen to make it go back down.

    That fully closes out an app. It's still on the iPad, BTW, but not in the multi-tasker.

    Hope this clarifies.

    Marilyn
     
  15. cyndy

    cyndy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Wow, I didn't know that about the apps! Thanks. That reminds me about something else. I almost always do the 4 finger swipe. I just wonder how many times that button will hold up over millions of times using it. I have had repairmen saying they do have to replace them.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how much ram does an ipad 4 have

,
how much ram does an ipad have
,

how much ram does ipad 4 have

,

how much ram does the ipad 4 have

,
how much ram in ipad 4