How easy or complicated?

Discussion in 'International iPad Users' started by Aryan, May 12, 2011.

  1. Aryan

    Aryan iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Guys,

    Could you please explain how easy or complicated it is to get an ipad2 3G,sourced from US, to get working in India.
    Attraction : US price as compared to Indian price!
    Inhibition : Get registered with AT&T in US beforehand. Some say software up-gradation will be an issue later.

    Please help with your valuable insights!
    Appreciate your responses!

    Aryan
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Several members from India have purchased iPads in the US and then got them to work without a problem when they got home. As you suggested, you need to initialise the iPad with AT&T in the US first, most people have found but, after that, there's no problem back in India using a microSIM from a local service provider. If microSIMs are going to be difficult to get, you might want to invest in a SIM cutter when you're in the US, which trims the excess plastic off a regular SIM and makes it the right size for the iPad.

    I don't think they'll be any problem in software updates for your iPad as long as you have an iTunes account.

    Tim
     
  3. Aryan

    Aryan iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Tim, thanks for sharing your view.
    Could I bother you with one query, that is, what exactly do we mean by initializing with AT&T, is it just putting in the SIM and activating the device or making calls to carrier to activate.

    Thanks,
    Aryan
     
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Yes - you need to put in the SIM and activate it - which means signing up for service. But they do a Pay As You Go pre-pay service, so simply choose the minimum price one. Once you've initialised the iPad then you can use the rest of the data plan you have paid for :)D ) but, more importantly, it will work without any trouble when you get it back to India and sign up with a local service provider there - such as Vodacom. Check whether you can get microSIMs in your locality - there still slightly rare and the iPad needs one. If there's likely to be a problem, I'd suggest you purchase a SIM-cutter in the US (check Amazon for details), which will trim the excess plastic off a regular SIM and make it the correct size for the iPad. It sounds a slightly bizarre process, but it's quite simple in reality. It will enable you to purchase a 'regular sized' SIM in India and then make it the correct size for the iPad.

    Let us know if you need any further help and enjoy your trip and your iPad.

    Tim
     
  5. Aryan

    Aryan iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Tim, I appreciate your taking out time to guide me on this!

    Allright so my modus operandi ;-) would be to buy the lowest, pay as you go plan, use the services for a while n thats it, I have an ipad ready to work in India!! I will update you once I have it here!!

    Thanks again!!
    Aryan
     

Share This Page