What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

how do you tranfer text files etc??

jmorton10

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am a PC tech & have never owned a mac product other than my 10 year old daughter's ipod touch.

I have a 64 gig 3G/WiFi ipad 2 on order but haven't received it yet (shipping April 26th). I have the latest version of itunes installed in my LAN at home & I have used it extensively to transfer music & ripped movies etc to the touch, but I'm wondering what the easiest way to transfer other stuff like word docs, PP files etc. to the ipad 2 memory??

~John

Reaction score
Goodreader makes it easy to copy files onto your iPad, there are 3 ways
-via a browser, but only one file can be transferred at a time
-Goodreader program, it let's you move files/folders directly onto the Goodreader app from the program. It essentially let's you use the iPad as a USB drive, when the iPad is connected via USB to the PC
-set up Goodreader as a network drive. This is my preferred method, as it lets you copy/move files/folders over Wifi onto the iPad

On Windows 7, this can be done as followed. (Instead of browsing to the folder, add the IP address Goodreader shows when you open Wifi-Transfer)
www.itechtalk.com/thread3673.html

Madchiller

iPF Noob
Reaction score
jmorton10 said:
I am a PC tech & have never owned a mac product other than my 10 year old daughter's ipod touch.