How do you guys feel about App review popups

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by HTMLEgg, Jul 19, 2011.

1. HTMLEgg

HTMLEgg
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

Thanks Received:
    I've noticed a number of Apps have a auto pop up that ask you to provide a review, it usually comes up after you've used the App a few times. You are provided with options to Review now, Remind again and Cancel.

Being a developer, I wonder how users feel about this. Do you think it's reasonable to include such an add-on within an App or does it frustrate users?

Thanks, I look forward to hearing from everyone.

2. Tim SPRACKLEN

Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

Thanks Received:
    I don't mind if it only pops up once - but gives me the option elsewhere for a review - or, remind me in 7 days.

Tim

3. Mickey330

Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    As a user, it annoys the heck out of me! I can live with one (one!) pop-up. It's bothersome, but liveable.

It's the ones that Continue. To. Ask. For. A. Review. that annoy me. Unfortunately, I usually do like the app, so I don't delete it because of that irritation.

It could be just me - because, as a rule, I don't do reviews. I figure me purchasing the app is review enough, especially if I go back to purchase a full-fledged app after being allowed the opportunity to try out a [free] Lite version.

Good luck in your development project(s).

Marilyn

4. addiosamigo

addiosamigo
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

Thanks Received:
    Lose connectivity while trying to update email which is like 4 profiles! That's annoying! :) but to answer your question, no it doesn't bother me, I get it with windows updates all the time so I'm used to it!

#4 addiosamigo, Jul 19, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  5. K1W1

K1W1
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

Thanks Received:
    Hate them and will not post a review on any app that uses this technique.