How can I find the Cydia preinstalled apps

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by dragon499, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. dragon499
    Offline

    dragon499 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    In Cydia, under installed, I see (in Blue) The apps I purchased. There are numerous pre-installed apps, such as "find utilities" and Bourne Again Shell. There are no icons. How do I access these preinstalled apps.
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,448
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 0
    You don't.

    A lot of the stuff put on your iPad is to make the tweaks you install run properly. But, they are not for the user to use, but for the tweak to use. So, don't worry about them, only worry if you can't access a Cydia tweak that you installed.

    Hope this makes sense and clarifies.

    Marilyn
  3. dragon499
    Offline

    dragon499 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    It makes sense and clarifies, but I have a followup question:

    Every time I select the "installed" tab, Cydia indicates it is "downloading." Is this because I have just jailbroken and everything is not yet in place, or will this happen frequently.

    Ty 4 all the quick responses. This is my first jailbreak and I am having tons of fun. So far, I have purchased and installed, MyWi 5.0, 3G unrestrictor and iFile. I'll get openssh and an ftp client tomorrow. If I download them now, I'll never get to sleep!
  4. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,448
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 0
    When you first open Cydia, it loads all the repos and such. This normally doesn't take very long. But, thanks to the new jail break, I am sure that The Cydia servers are getting hammered right now, so this loading process may take longer than usual (sometimes you may even get errors). If I may suggest, wait until Cydia has finished before doing anything. I've found it helps the process as you're not interrupting it...

    Oh, and when you get OppenSSH - make sure to change your root and mobile passwords! They are the same for everyone until changed (alpine) and you sure don't want to leave a window open! Yell if you need help on that process.

    Ain't jailbreaking fun?! :D

    Marilyn
  5. dragon499
    Offline

    dragon499 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Thanks for the reminder. As an added security measure for openssh, when I am finished with an ssh session, can't I just edit /etc/services and remark out the ssh entries with a #. I have not worked with Linux for a while, but I think that is how I used to close ports.

    With these entries remarked out, won't ssh not be available?
  6. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,448
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 0
    No, you don't really want to be messing about with OpenSSH like that. The easiest thing to do is get SBSettings (free in Cydia). Then, when you install OpenSSH, you can activate the SSH toggle to turn it on and off. Makes life easier.

    Though, if I may make yet another suggestion: When you do get OpenSSH, don't worry about turning in on or off; just change the passwords and you'll be fine. It's designed to be on by default (after a power on, restart or reset). This is a safety feature so that, in case you ever need to, it's on and that's one less block to getting into your iPad should something go wrong. Sometimes, we do a real good job of mucking up a JB. With OpenSSH installed (and YOUR password), that might give you that little tunnel you need to get back into the iPad.

    Just my 2¢ - YMMV.

    Marilyn
  7. dragon499
    Offline

    dragon499 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Your advice makes sense. I can see myself bricking the Ipad by playing around with system files. With Access, I could always revert the changes.
  8. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Not everything you install to the iPad will have an icon you can open.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

bourne again shell cydia

,
bourne again shell ipad
,

bourne-again shell cydia

,
bourne-again shell iphone 4
,
cydia bourne again shell
,
cydia bourne again shell howto
,
cydia bourne-again shell
,
cydia pre installed package
,
cydia shell
,
how to find the cydia tweak bourne-again shell
,
how to locate the cydia
,
how to use bourne-again shell on iphone
,
how tocheck what was the last cydia app installed
,
ipad cydia bourne-again shell
,
packages installed with cydia
,
prepinstalled apps are no longer on iphone after jailbreak
,
running bourne again shell from cydia
,
what are the main pre-installed things in cydia
,
what is the bourne again shell jailbreak
,
what packages come already installed with cydia