What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi y'all. I'm new to iPad but not to computers

BobbyBoomer

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Hi y'all. My name is Bob. I'm new to iPad but not to computers so I have a lot to learn.

First of all, I tried posting this thread last night on my iPad after I joined, but couldn't get the cursor into this message box. I could put a title in there, but not a message. BTW, I'm doing this on my Windows PC and it's working fine.

I'd tap the message window and nothing would happen. I have no idea what I may be doing wrong. Settings? Anything else? Any help would be appreciated. I don't seem to have that problem with any other app on the iPad.

I'm a musician, and have been computing since the Atari/PC-DOS-5/Mac-OS6 days (we called it system 6 back then). My last Mac was a Power PC chip OSX. I never graduated to an Intel Mac (see next paragraph for the reason)

I also write aftermarket styles for Band-in-a-Box so my main computer is a Windows PC. The software for making styles chose the platform (the Mac StyleMaker app is severely limited as compared to the PC version - not the computer's fault but the software authors). I don't know if it's rude to post the URL here yet, so for now I'll keep that a secret. I don't want to irritate my new potential friends ;)

I wanted a tablet, and from what I read the most and best music apps are on the iPad so I got an iPad air. This is my first tablet, and I don't expect it to replace my laptops, but enhance things for me.

I make most of my living as a pro musician, the BiaB thing is a sideline, and I'm eager to learn more about how to use the iPad here. I'm definitely a newbie at iOS.

Here is what I'm initially interested in: