Hi, Got the thing (iPad2) HELP!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by avon7, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. avon7

    avon7 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Introducing myself: Alan - bought an Ipad 64gB, 3G + WiFi recently and been having problems with establishing a WiFi connection with either my iPhone3 with latest IOS (personal hotspot) or my Motorola Blur 3G (3G Hotspot). Why do I want to WiFi connect - its all about the plan I am on.

    I don't have a land-line at home, so I use the iPhone to provide mobile broadband to my PC - via the personal hotspot, no problems. I would also like to WiFi the iPad2 so I can use the more generous plan that I have with the iPhone. To eliminate the iPhone as a potential problem (Apple paranoia) I have also tried my MotoBlur - same problem.

    Problem: iPad2 finds network but refuses to connect after asking me for a user name and PW.

    Any ideas please?

    Alan
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    One problem that has afflicted many iPad users is that the iPad defaults to auto capitalisation and, if your password is all lower case, it will capitalise the first letter, probably without you noticing! So re-enter the password and see if it's doing that - if it is you'll have to press the shift key before you enter the first letter of your password to cancel the upper case.

    Good Luck and let us know how you get on...

    Tim
     
  3. Hayles66

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,897
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +343 / 0
    First of all, welcome to our friendly iPad forum all the way from UK

    Secondly, help will come your way, either fast or slow, depending on whether they are awake or asleep - international users

    Lastly, lucky you to get my perfect iPad for the future, you will get an answer soon, our two moderators are on line so will get to you soon

    Enjoy your iPad
     
  4. Hayles66

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,897
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +343 / 0
    Aw shucks Tim beat me to it this time!
     
  5. avon7

    avon7 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Great quick fix but BTDT to no avail.
     
  6. avon7

    avon7 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sorry if that response sounded a bit abrupt - thanks for the quick responses - awesome! BTW, when I first took the iPad into my office, it instantly connected to the office router......
     
  7. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,027
    Thanks Received:
    2,331
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,817 / 1
    If it is already asking for a user name and password, then the security method is set. If the method is wrong the connection will fail. Try selecting the network and forgetting it in Settings >> Wi-Fi >> Network name, then connect again using the right security protocol. The iPhone uses WPA 2. No idea what the Motorola Blur uses.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

connect iphone3 to ipad2

,

where is the enter button on ipad2