Hi and please help

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by Sammy2780, Oct 12, 2015.

  1. Sammy2780

    Sammy2780
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi my name is Sam and I am not tech savvy at all. Dropbox opens and closes quickly and I can't use it. I read uninstalling and then reinstalling the app works. When I press the app it tells me all files will be lost. I am studying online and all my assessments are in Dropbox so I don't want to lose them. Can someone please help? Thank you
     
  2. giradman

    giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,671
    Thanks Received:
    5,663
    Hi Sam - welcome to the forum! :) First, let us know which iPad model you own and which iOS is installed? Second, please explain how you are using Dropbox, i.e. how are your files being connected - online, on your computer, or other. Hope this will start the discussion - Dave
     
  3. Sammy2780

    Sammy2780
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks dave Oh man! I don't even know where to look for that stuff. I got the iPad with my course. My files are connected online. The model is 9.0.2 just a regular iPad I guess. Sorry As for the iOS I have no idea.
     
  4. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,034
    Thanks Received:
    10,130
    The files in Dropbox are stored online, not on your iPad. If you uninstall the app, and install it again, you'll just have to sign in in the app with your Dropbox account to access them as before.
     
  5. dhewson777

    dhewson777
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Thanks Received:
    163
    And if you have tapped the star next to a file, an offline version of the file is also kept locally on the iPad (within the app). This is likely the data it is warning you about, although a copy should already be in your Dropbox cloud.
     

Share This Page