Help!!!!

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Saraphi, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. Saraphi

    Saraphi
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    two questions:
    When I went to reboot my iPad 2, I got a message saying I would have to repurchase all my previously bought apps and stuff, I guess. Would this include Kindle, and the books I bought on Kindle does some one know?

    I needed to reboot because strangely I have some movies that I have in my mac mini iTune movie section, that will not download to the iPad, some do no problem some dont. I am too stupid to figure this out. Any one help me on this?
     
  2. Deedsy

    Deedsy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Rebooting your ipad should not have any affect on previous purchases. Are you able to re-create this message and post word for word what it says?
     
  3. turbinac

    turbinac
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HELP! Strange but different problem for me. The left hand toolbar on my iTunes page does not show "Devices" so I can't add my new iPad2 to iTunes. How do I get "Devices" back into the toolbar? Up to now have only used an iPod touch. My iTunes on the computer is about 4 years old.
    Can anyone help?
     
  4. Deedsy

    Deedsy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Update itunes.
     
  5. Saraphi

    Saraphi
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    re deedsy message

    It reads: "Are you sure you want to restore the iPad G------- S------ iPad to its factory settings? All of your media and other data will be erased.

    Last time it said I would lose all my stuff purchased and have to repurchase, however this time I did not get that message. However this time I did indicate I wanted to back up first, so maybe that was my mistake before.
     
    #5 Saraphi, Sep 20, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2011
  6. Wolfpuppies3

    Wolfpuppies3
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Your initial post said "reboot"

    which is greatly different than "restore." Reboot is just that, like turning a computer or iPhone off and then back on to clear it's little mind. Restore means wipe out everything on the iPad and reset it to factory defaults as though it is a brand new empty machine. If that is what you did and did not back everything up then all is gone.
     
  7. Saraphi

    Saraphi
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you Wolf. You're right it was restore, and I now understand I do need to back up first. Thanks to all for the help and patience. BTW love dogs, just lost my Gldn Rtrvr at 12y/o
    regards
    george s
     

Share This Page