help with set up

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by mattd285, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. mattd285
    Offline

    mattd285 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    having nightmare with set up of i pad. bought in florida 2 months ago brought home, still not able to set up. must have tried 50 times to download itunes but no further instructions are forthcoming. the ipad just shows a picture of the cable and an itunes logo. what do i do next?

    about to bin the thing or hide it on the shelf.

    everywhere where i researched so far says its supposed to self sync?

    please, before i smash it up.

    regards
    matt
  2. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,032
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Are you serious? Plug the iPad in, turn it on, and start up iTunes. You've been banging your head against the wall for two months and didn't think to type into Google "how to set up your ipad"? LOL

    Here's the first result:

    How To: Set Up Your iPad the Right Way

    And there are a million other results, videos, and articles thereafter.
  3. mattd285
    Offline

    mattd285 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    looked at the set up guide, nothing like that happens on the ipad!!

    nothing happens when i plug it in at all. just a pic of power cable.

    regards

    m
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,032
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Did you charge it and turn it on?
  5. mattd285
    Offline

    mattd285 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    am i missing something with turning it on?

    i know how to turn off, ie top and bottom button same time, slide to power off etc.

    its fully charged.

    regards

    m
  6. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,032
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hold in the lock button until it turns on. The Apple logo will pop up.
  7. Undaunted
    Offline

    Undaunted iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same Problem...

    On my Ipad I have the same problem. I get the image of plug in to iTunes, eventually I can get it to make the new item found sound and then a pop up for "Import pictures and video Wizzard" appears. I am not sure why this appears? Help, what to try next.

    btw I do have a current iTunes open when this happens.
  8. ipadfanatic
    Offline

    ipadfanatic iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I checked my calendar and it's not April fools day but please tell me this is a joke. Your iPad comes with 90 days of free support
  9. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,032
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I'm pretty sure he wasn't joking. Notice after I told him how to turn it on he never came back.
  10. col.bris
    Online

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,594
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +480 / 0
    Just a question have you downloaded iTunes to your PC or Mac from Apple.com. If not do so then after you install then launch itunes ok then plug in the iPad and follow instructions

    If non of that is working you either have an problem with your main computer or a problem with the iPad without detailed information it is hard for us to advise.
    The bottom line it works 99% of the time providing you followed the above directions. If alleles fails go to an Apple store and have it checked

    Col
  11. col.bris
    Online

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,594
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +480 / 0
    Just a question have you downloaded iTunes to your PC or Mac from Apple.com. If not do so then after you install then launch itunes ok then plug in the iPad and follow instructions

    If non of that is working you either have an problem with your main computer or a problem with the iPad without detailed information it is hard for us to advise.
    The bottom line it works 99% of the time providing you followed the above directions. If alleles fails go to an Apple store and have it checked

    Col
  12. col.bris
    Online

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,594
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +480 / 0
    One more thing i find it strange to purchase an ipad 2 months ago and still cannot set it up that does not make sense because most people when they purchase a new device like the iPad would want to set it up straight away and if had a problem would call whom they purchased it from not wait 2 months before asking !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  13. Mishka
    Offline

    Mishka iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Solution to iPad sync/setup stalling

    Just went through this. What Mac SHOULD have told you in there minimal-as-ever instruction sheet is:
    1: Ensure you have the latest operating system i.e. Mac OSX Snow Leopard. This may require buying an upgrade to your current Mac
    2: Once you have spent the 2+ hours upgrading your operating system, go online and install further upgrades. What you get on the CD is not enough! This may be about a gigabyte, so allow another hour or two.
    3: THEN ensure you have the latest iTunes
    4: THEN plug in your ipad. It will run through everything and set up no problem.

    BUT if you do NOT have the latest operating system nothing will happen. The thing will launch iPhoto and sit there forever. For some reason very few people seem to understand this problem.

    Hope it helps.
  14. Mishka
    Offline

    Mishka iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This is not helpful.

  15. shafqat
    Offline

    shafqat iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    same prob im facing

    [FONT=&quot]I have the same problem. I get the image of plug in to iTunes, please help, what to try next.

    [/FONT]
  16. ochie927
    Offline

    ochie927 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Umm..maybe you can try plugging it in to itunes? ;)

    Mishka above just gave a good reply ..try that and call apple if you still don't get it
  17. fhlee
    Offline

    fhlee iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello... I just got my iPad... I'm not sure if Apple did idiot proof testing, but maybe they didn't get an idiot enuf tester ... I have the same problem. Took the iPad off the box, plug in power cable, press the on button on the top. Then there is a little Apple logo (silver) in the center of the screen, then there is this iTune logo with a USB cable pointing to it. And then nothing else... it just stuck there. No matter what I do ... It's an iPad 64Gb 3G if it make any difference...
  18. fhlee
    Offline

    fhlee iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How to Setup a new iPad

    Wow... I figured out how it works.... Apple should stick a sticker on the iPad screen telling ppl what to do next.

    After you take the iPad off the box,
    1. Charge it a little bit with the power adapter (just in case the battery is completely empty).
    2. On your Mac or PC, you MUST download the iTunes software ON YOUR Mac/PC first from www . itunes . com / download (please remove the spaces)
    3. Then plug in the USB cable from your iPad to your Mac/PC
    4. and run the iTune program and switch on the iPad.

    If you don't connect the iPad to your Mac/PC (with the iTunes software) and switch on the iPad, all you will get on display is just an iTunes logo with a USB cable pointing to it... not very helpful at all!

    Hope this helps other ppl ...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple ipad setup help
,
apple uk helplinehelp me set up my i pad
,
assistance with pad instructions
,
google set up i pad
,
help apple pad
,
help to get my new apple i pad on
,
help,.apple.com/pad
,
help.apple.com/pad
,
hoe to set time on i pad
,
i pad change time directions
,
i pad directions
,
i pad help
,
i pad start up
,
i pad start up instructions
,
ipad start up instructions
,
ipad startup directions
,

ipad startup instructions

,
need help on operating my i pad
,
set i pad minibto receivd trxt messages
,
www.help.apple.com/pad