1. myannon

    myannon
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi. Im Mike from Arizona. I've been an iPad owner for almost 2 yrs. I love it but I have quite a few app icons that I just can not remove. I've tried the hold and wiggle thing literally hundreds of times to no avail. I've had other iPad users try it, also to no avail. I've read it takes a certain finesse but have tried every conceivable variation and again, nada! Is there a way to enable this process that I'm missing? Please help!

    Thanks
     
  2. myannon

    myannon
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Forgive me, clearly, I did not follow forum rules or read anything before posting. My title, Hello, is not helpful. I'm hoping we can consider this a lesson well-learned but
     
  3. myannon

    myannon
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    perhaps I can still get some help?
     
  4. myannon

    myannon
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    please help nevertheless!
     
  5. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,400
    Thanks Received:
    985
    Hi Mike and welcome.


    Yes, it's true. Meaningful titles help, but we still attempt to get to everyone in the end.

    Not sure what's going on here. Are you trying to delete apps like Newsstand that are supplied with the iPad? If so, its not possible. Native apps can't be deleted.

    Otherwise, the long press and touch the "x" should work. If you still can't get it to work, it's over to iTunes. Plug your iPad in with a USB cable. Click on the name of the iPad in the iTunes sidebar. Then go to the apps tab. You can deselect apps that you want to remove, hit SYNC and they will disappear. Again, this won't work for native apps.

    Best thing to do with any of those that you don't want to look at is chuck 'em in a folder on the last page of your home screen. Don't try this with newsstand because if wont work. The reason for this is that Newsstand is a folder, and you can't have a folder within a folder.
     
    #5 KevinJS, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  6. myannon

    myannon
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Kevin, thank you. The app icons in question are mostly demos that came with the iPad, the trial period is over and they are taking up two full pages of apps. I'll give the second solution a go. I've never gotten the screen to shake, as I've seen numerous times from friends and YouTube. Thanks again.
     
  7. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,400
    Thanks Received:
    985
    Sounds like you have hold of an ex-demo iPad. I've heard of this once or twice. Normally iPads are sold clean, with just the native apps in place. If this is indeed the case, you might be better off doing a Restore, and starting with a clean slate.

    You will have to input everything from scratch, but at least then it will function as it is intended to.
     
  8. myannon

    myannon
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Kevin. If I do, will I have to back up iTunes and other such things? And I think you're right, since I got this from a job I had and this was to be used as a demo,
     
  9. KevinJS

    KevinJS
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,400
    Thanks Received:
    985
    Do you have your AppleID on this iPad, or are you just using it as it was supplied?
     
  10. myannon

    myannon
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not sure. Thinking I'm using it as supplied. Is there a way to tell? Sorry I'm such a noob...
     

Share This Page