Have a question about syncing my iPad 2 (JB) with new MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by caparker418, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. caparker418

    caparker418 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    I've got an iPad 2 on 5.0 which is jailbroken. It's currently synced with my old Windows laptop and I've got tiny umbrella with my blobs saved as well.

    How do I smoothly transfer everything to my MacBook? I haven't synced my iPad since I got the MacBook 4 months ago. I do have iCloud set up but I get those messages asking if I'm sure I want to sync with a new library and I'm paranoid about losing my jailbreak! Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    As you are jailbroken I've moved your post to the Hacking forum to get you the help that you need......good luck!

    The Archangel
     
  3. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    I'm not sure being jailbroken has any bearing on this at all. A jailbroken device behaves exactly the same as a non-jailbroken device as far as iTunes is concerned. The only thing to be careful about is not updating IOS on your iPad if iTunes offers it to you.

    I am certainly not an expert on moving iTunes between PC's but it sounds to be like the Windows Migration Assistant should help you. That helps transfer a complete iTunes account (as well as lots of other things, optionally) from a Windows PC to a new Mac computer.

    Have a look at this guide here - About Windows Migration Assistant

    Good luck.
     
  4. caparker418

    caparker418 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks! I'll try the Migration Assistant again. When I first got my Mac, I didn't know what I was doing for the most part so I skipped a lot of the set-up stuff. I'm going to make the last transfers this week and become PC free! It's funny how after just a few months, I already find myself forgetting how to do something on my Windows laptop. Even though iTunes is so much friendlier on a Mac, I'm still not a fan. I don't hate it anymore though-baby steps :) Thanks again.
     
  5. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Good luck! ;)
     
  6. Wokiebear

    Wokiebear iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I moved everything from PC to MBP, but put it on VMWare Fusion. To make iTunes work correctly in this manner, but using Fusion transfer or migration. I needed to first deactivate the computer. On the other computer reactivate. when transferring using a disk image, it was necessary to reinstall iTunes, but it retained my files. I also transferred my entire computer intact by first making a virtual driver for the PC to move to the iMac. Took a long time but worked. iTunes is one I had to reinstall to work right.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

reactivate

,

what when ipad 2 sync with macbook?

,

which ipad2 sync to macbook