1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Google Search on Safari

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Flotzie, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Flotzie
    Offline

    Flotzie iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    The Google Search in Safari has changed the way it's design. I prefer the old Google.

    Can I change it back?
  2. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,989
    Thanks Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,003 / 1
    I've heard they updated the tablet page, but I'm still seeing the standard desktop version of the site. Try entering google.com in the URL field.
  3. Flotzie
    Offline

    Flotzie iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Here's what I get.

    Attached Files:

  4. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    That's strange, here is what I got 30 seconds ago......

    The Archangel

    Attached Files:

  5. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,876
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Isn't this what Tim was moaning about yesterday? I get the same screen as Gabriel!

    sent with love from my iPad on IPF
  6. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    I'm having the same "problem," though I rather like the new display (I think). Though it definitely looks like Google has redone this, if your browser allows you change the browser identity, you can get back the standard display by choosing either Firefox 3 (Windows) or Safari 5 (Mac). I tested those two and they will return you to the original display. I believe that the updated Safari in iOS5 will also allow these changes when the time comes.
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,989
    Thanks Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,003 / 1
    Looks like the google.co.uk site redirects to a tablet optimized page. I can't find any way to bypass it, including deleting the #sclient=tablet portion of the URL.

    You can bypass this by using a third party browser like Atomic or iCab Mobile. These browsers let you change their browser ID's so that the web site thinks they are desktop computers. The setting is under the gear/cog icon in Atomic, and somewhat deeper in the settings for iCab Mobile.

    The search field acts a bit wonky when I don this, but it is still usable. I think it's the Instant Search feature that is doing it.

    The google.com site has not yet been afflicted with this change. So unless you need UK specific results you could just go to that site instead.
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  8. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,989
    Thanks Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,003 / 1
    Late to the party again :)
  9. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    Hmm.....but both the screen shots above are google.co.uk but different result layouts........something seems strange in the neighbourhood, who you gonna call?

    The Archangel
  10. silvertemplar
    Offline

    silvertemplar iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pretoria
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    On a side note, if you want to force the browser to google.com (without it redirecting) . Goto www.google.com/ncr


    Sent from my iPad 2 using Tapatalk
  11. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,876
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Googlebuster! I've had both screens

    sent with love from my iPad on IPF
  12. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,989
    Thanks Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,003 / 1
    Sorry, missed that, and the mistake was reinforced when I went to the desktop version of google.co.uk and got this third result.

    And I notice that info's location is the Bay Area (California I assume), and is getting the mobile page.

    oooohh, a mystery. Lets see if we have any detectives lurking about.


    Update Note: There is an ad bar to the right. Atomic just auto zoomed so that it is not showing.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  13. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    LOL! Hey, you have to be quick on this forum! ;)
  14. info
    Offline

    info iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    957
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Yes, I am in California. I am also getting the simplified page when I use Safari or Safari (iPad) in iCabMobile. The www.google.com/ncr works to give me the standard Google search page but when I search, it just reverts back to the new/simplified layout.
  15. andsoitgoes
    Offline

    andsoitgoes iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This works. It's not ideal in any ways, but it works.

    I get so sick of companies deciding things like this for us. What right do they have???

    If you're going to do this, at least give us the option to revert to the old version.

    Google is just as bad as Netflix in their UI control. Frick on a Frick.
  16. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    Looking at the images again, in the address bar I noticed that Flotzie is identified as tablet after the .co.uk but mine is actually identified as iPad, if google can identify as iPad it then makes me wonder why all iPads aren't identified the same way. I always use the google search in the top right of safari, are others using it differently?

    The Archangel
  17. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
  18. ctsluder
    Offline

    ctsluder iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Google search does not work in landscape for me, keeps closing my keyboard.
    I don't like this!!
  19. Flotzie
    Offline

    Flotzie iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've had it for about a week now, and still think it's awful, especially in landscape mode. There's too much distance between the search results. I hope it's not here to stay or I'll be changing to Bing :-(
  20. Flotzie
    Offline

    Flotzie iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've now got the old (much better) Google back.

    Strange?

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
get google search back on safari on ipad
,

google invalid url ipad

,
google invalid url on ipad
,

google invalid url safari

,
google ipad standard safari
,
google search for ipad safari
,
google search safari ipad
,
invalid url for google on ipad
,

invalid url google ipad

,
invalid url google on ipad
,
invalid url google safari ipad
,
invalid url on ipad
,
invalid url safari
,
ipad google search safari
,
ipad invalid url google
,
ipad safari google invalid url
,

ipad safari google search

,
safari invalid url google
,
safari ipad search google
,
why invalid url for google on ipad