What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Getting Synced Photos off iPad Mini

Photo Time

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I could use some help.

I borrowed a friend's iPad Mini for a trip to Europe, and about half way through the trip all of my cameras' memory cards were full. I jumped on a computer at a hostel to transfer all of the photos to the iPad, with its 30GB drive. Not being an Apple expert, I guess I made a mistake and synced them from the PC I was on (I had first imported all of the pictures from the memory cards to the PC). I just got back and now I am trying to get these photos off the iPad.

I did some googling and most people recommend just using the Windows "Import Photos and Videos" option that first pops up when you plug in the iPad. I tried this, it only grabbed the photos I had actually created using the iPad itself (i.e. photos I had taken with the iPad camera or screenshots).

The photos I want to grab are in "albums", if that helps you.

I did find this discouraging text on the Apple website:

Pictures that have been synced from your computer to your device cannot be reimported back to your computer. Only pictures in the Camera Roll or Saved Photos can be imported from your device to your computer. If you need to retrieve synced photos from your device, email them directly from the device to yourself and then copy them from the emails to your computer.

support.apple.com/kb/HT4236?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US under "Additional Information"

All that considered, there must be some way to get them off! There are just over 3000 of these pictures, so emailing them one by one won't really work. Please help me.

Thank you

OP
P

Photo Time

iPF Noob