Getting email on sim card

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Redlady, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. Redlady
    Offline

    Redlady iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Please help a luddite in UK. I love my ipad2 but having problems when away from home. I have O2 sim card and when away the sign appears at top left of screen but I cannot get into facebook or email. This is sooooo frustrating. Help me plese.:mad:
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I'm assuming that you can get email at home on your WiFi network. Can you access the Internet at all when you're away from home? i.e. if you use Safari, can you see any websites at all?

    Remember, too, that the iPad will always try to use WiFi in preference to 3G and so, if you're in the presence of another WiFi network (i.e. you can see the WiFi signal 'fan' icon) then your iPad will be trying to connect to the Internet using that connection. Even if it can't, it (bizarrely) won't switch to 3G. So you might need to switch off the WiFi in 'Settings' and try again.

    Another point - have you had the O2 SIM for long? Do you know whether it's been authorised yet? We've had several Members with similar problems who subsequently discovered that the SIM had not yet been authorised.

    Tim
  3. Redlady
    Offline

    Redlady iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello Tim
    thanks for that. How would I get the sim card registered? At least I now know I will be able to access email etc. Thanks again.
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    What type of account do you have? Is it a pre-pay - i.e. PAYG - or a monthly contract? Normally the service provider would do this automatically but it sometimes takes a day or two. That's why I was asking whether you've ever been able to access the Internet at all using this SIM and how long you've had the card for. If you've just got the card - say in the last day or two - you might need simply to wait a while longer. If you've had the card for a while, then you might need to contact the service provider. Sometimes the registration/authorisation 'slips between the cracks'. The fact that you can see the O2 signal bars (and presumably the network name) means the SIM card is in OK and the iPad can receive the signal.

    Tim
  5. Redlady
    Offline

    Redlady iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello tim, thanks for that. The sim card was put in when i purchased the ipad from the apple store six weeks ago. i have never been able to access the internet whn awa from home. All i want is to access the internet when i am awahy from home. I registered for payg and to pay on a dialy basis. I even called the o2 help line 7, yes 7 times yesterday. I got told to do different things each time and now my ipad has a little box ever time i open th elid,saying not access, i then press the dismiss button and i am on the front page. Very frustrated. All i want is for my ipad to be to how it was. At least i can still use it at home on my wireless router. Thanks again for your thoughts.
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Have you set up the 3G in Settings? Specifically have you set up the APN? When you put a PAYG card in you need to set the account up with things like account name, password, APN etc....

    Tim

Share This Page