What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FRONT Camera

lovehorses14

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Okay so I'm totally new to this sight and I have really no clue what I'm doing! Anyways I have a question I just got my iPad 3 and my front camera is all crappy while my back camera is really good quality. I was thinking its just that my iPad is messed up, but I'm wondering if its everyone's iPad that's messed up like that. Please respond:)

KevinJS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
The front camera is of much lower resolution than the rear camera. It is intended only for FaceTime calls and the like.

It is around 0.7 megapixels, I believe, so it's really only good for video, definitely not still photography.

Sent from my iPad using iPF

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
The front camera is of much lower resolution than the rear camera. It is intended only for FaceTime calls and the like.

It is around 0.7 megapixels, I believe, so it's really only good for video, definitely not still photography.

That was the iPad 2's front camera. It was VGA.

The iPad 3 front camera is 1.2 MP (720p HD video). Still meant mostly for FaceTime, so not a great camera for still's. About the same as the iPad 2's back camera, actually. It didn't take great stills either.

The back camera is 5 MB and 1080p HD, for comparison's sake.

OP
lovehorses14

lovehorses14

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thanks I appreciate it. I thought it was because my iPad had a glitch to it but I was wrong. Though it really annoys me how apple didn't even want to give some of there time to make it a little better. Anyways my back camera works really well so I'm glad for that.

Attachments

• image-1629411482.jpg