fresh start...

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by 88raymond, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. 88raymond
    Offline

    88raymond iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    how do i go back to the state when the ipad2 has just been jailbroken? i've placed so many tweaks and apps that i don't know why i can't use some of the apps anymore... they cannot open new files recently downloaded, and always lead to a reboot (without me doing anything)...
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,567
    Thanks Received:
    1,810
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,972 / 0
    The only way you can go back to a freshly jailbreak state is to restore the iPad and then re-jailbreak.

    I actually do it myself, every now and then just to clean up stray line of programming.

    Of course, I would not recommend this method if you are on iOS 4.3.3 and don't haveyour SHSH blobs saved for that version...

    Marilyn
  3. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I do the same thing every now and then also because I screw around a lot with it and it gets some holes or other problems. Like Marilyn said though, if you don't have blobs for your version, don't do it.
  4. 88raymond
    Offline

    88raymond iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    i have the 4.3.3 shsh blob saved via TU. where do i go for the directions on re-starting? thanks!
  5. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
  6. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    That defeats the purpose of restoring.
    You restore and rejailbreak so you can only install tweaks that you really want so you don't slow it down. If he used pkgbackup, it would just install everything back on it and slow it down again.
  7. apple2011
    Offline

    apple2011 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United states
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    reboot and rejailbroken needed...
    no pkgbackup needed...
  8. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,567
    Thanks Received:
    1,810
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,972 / 0
    Well, to be honest, I do use PKGBackup when I restore/re-jailbreak my iPad (to clean it up). It's just too much work, for me, to put everything back the way it was.

    If you remove the tweaks and repos you don't want OFF the iPad BEFORE using PKGBackup, then it'll work out fine ... at least for me.

    PKGBackup really only reads/stores/backups existing tweaks. Then, on a restore, it only puts those items back on.

    Well, that's what works for me...

    Marilyn
  9. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I never thought about that...


    But I guess I am a neat freak. :)
  10. 88raymond
    Offline

    88raymond iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    TU does not recognize that my device is connected, while ITunes has no problem. I'm in DFU mode.

    How can I use TU, when pressing Start TSS Server does nothing? My 4.3.3 SHSH Blob is there...

    One more thing, ITunes say the Ipad2 3G GSM file which I got from http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-hacking/24939-official-apple-ios-firmware-download-links-ipad.html is corrupted. I've tried to download the same file using 3 different computers....

    ...and I'm in and endless loop in booting :(

    I can't proceed...
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011
  11. 88raymond
    Offline

    88raymond iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    i tried again with a different computer accessing the internet with a different network carrier... and the file is finally NOT CORRUPTED :D

    restore done...

    i'm syncing now... thanks!
  12. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Yay!!!!!! Glad it's done.
  13. 88raymond
    Offline

    88raymond iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    ... but i confess, i don't get how to use pkgbackup.... it might be k.i.s.s. but it doesn't look intuitive...

    how can i backup, and restore?
  14. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Tap on the gear at the top and then tap "dropbox". Sign into dropbox. Scroll down and hit "accept changes". Tap the curved arrow in the bottom left. After that's done just hit "do backup" at the bottom.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. 88raymond
    Offline

    88raymond iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    forgot to say thanks, graywolf.... THANK YOU!!!

    pkgbackup doesn't let me backup the apps i got from the AppStore, just the tweaks and other stuff...
  16. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,567
    Thanks Received:
    1,810
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,972 / 0
    There is an option in PKGBackup to backup your App Store apps.

    Press on the gear icon in the upper left. Then, you can select "Scan applications on startup." This will cause PKGBackup to scan and prepare all your App Store apps for backup.

    To be honest - I'd just stick with iTunes. I tried to use PKGBackup once for App Store apps ... once! I had over 150 apps on the iPad and it took hours (!) for PKGBackup to scan them all to prepare for backup. Then, it took hours more (!) to do the backup. No thanks. Too much time.

    Now, I use PKGBackup for Cydia stuff and iTunes for stock apps. Works well and I can do a restore in about an hour. Of course, YMMV.

    Marilyn
  17. 88raymond
    Offline

    88raymond iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    thanks, marilyn! you helped me again.

    i only have 41 apps, that would then be several hours divided by three, lol!

    i'll see how soon it finishes when i wake up... now, back to sleep :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad 1 fresh start

,

ipad how fresh

,

start fresh apple ipad 1

,
starting fresh with apple ipad