What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fresh restore vs backup restore?

Purrson

iPF Noob
Reaction score
On thread about updating to 5.0.1 I have seen several posts referring to "fresh restore my iPad and never restore from backup"

I am relatively new to apple with the original iPad being my first and only apple device but have maintained my own computers for years, but do not understand fresh restore vs from backup. I am assuming it means reinstalling all apps one by one, not synching from iTunes? But wouldn't that mean losing books, scores and having to get everything again?? Recently purchased new pc qnd getting things over time took forever, still know do not have all back.

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
On thread about updating to 5.0.1 I have seen several posts referring to "fresh restore my iPad and never restore from backup"

I am relatively new to apple with the original iPad being my first and only apple device but have maintained my own computers for years, but do not understand fresh restore vs from backup. I am assuming it means reinstalling all apps one by one, not synching from iTunes? But wouldn't that mean losing books, scores and having to get everything again?? Recently purchased new pc qnd getting things over time took forever, still know do not have all back.

What you've said is exactly right. If you do a "restore from backup," iTunes uses your most recent backup and puts it back on the iPad. This will include contact info, e-mails, songs, movies, books, documents, etc. Basically (well, in theory) a restore from backup puts your iPad right back to where it was at the time of backup - no info lost.