What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Field mapping and ham radio apps

radiotuber

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm an Engineering Geologist by trade and am considering one of these (instead of a netbook) for field mapping and damage assessment work. I'd like to be able to fetch local maps, add info and labels to them like building damage, faulting, landslides, tsunami damage, take georeferenced photos and send them back to civilization. I'd also like something like Adobe Illustrator for building/trading custom maps and graphics.

The iPhone is slick, cute, had tons of apps, but the screen is just too small for my needs. Also I'm a ham radio operator and wonder about ham-related apps like Morse code and other digital modes, satellite tracking, contest logging, basic circuit design.

Is there some sort of Master List of apps? I want to find out if this is a unit I could actually use for Emergency related work.

Thanks!
Radiotuber

followthesapper

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I would say your best bet for a 'Master List', would be the app store search. There is reportedly an app for just about anything.

Even though you don't have the iPad yet, you can still install iTunes and search the app store from there.

Edit:

Also I'm a ham radio operator and wonder about ham-related apps like Morse code and other digital modes, satellite tracking, contest logging, basic circuit design.

I just did a quick search and found an app for each of the above :)

Last edited:

skimonkey

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi there...I don't have an answer for you, but hopefully others may.