Factory reset and rejailbreak?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by sentinelace, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    If I factory reset my ipad on 6.1.2. I can simply rejailbreak correct?
  2. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,589
    Thanks Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,837 / 1
    If you do a factory reset, your iPad will be on iOS 6.1.3, which can't be jailbroken.
  3. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Even if I reset on the ipad itself?
  4. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,589
    Thanks Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,837 / 1
    You can't use the reset feature on the iPad itself, with a jailbroken iPad, it will mess up your jailbreak.
  5. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Will the reset work on iPhones?
  6. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,589
    Thanks Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,837 / 1
    If your iPhone is jailbroken, you must never use the reset feature on the iPhone itself, only on iTunes on your computer. It will cause the same problems as doing it with an iPad.
  7. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Dang. My issue is I have some cydia app causing crashes. Can it be debugged?
  8. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,558
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,960 / 0
    Can't you just uninstall that misbehaving tweak from Cydia? That should take of it "causing crashes."

    Marilyn
  9. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I have no idea how to find it
  10. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,589
    Thanks Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,837 / 1
    Could you just list all the Cydia tweaks you downloaded shortly before the problem started? We could tell you if one of them could possibly be responsible.
  11. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Not sure how I can do that since most of the stuff i installed don't show up in cydia even though they are install. Probably when I did a jailbreak over a jailbreak a while back. Was hoping I could stray from scratch.
  12. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,273
    Thanks Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +252 / 0
    See if manually uninstalling them works. Root your device and head over to private/var/stash/Applications.xxx, back all the folders up, and manually delete them. Reboot your device, and you shouldn't be crashing. That would get rid of your Cydia applications and most tweaks. Then reinstall them and make sure that the apps/tweaks are compatible with the model and iOS combination of your device.
  13. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    By root do you mean install rootify? Also will this kill my repos?
  14. Inked adrenaline
    Offline

    Inked adrenaline iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    So you ran jailbreak software over an already Jailbroken phone? That's probably your issue.
  15. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Yeah can't remember why
  16. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    When I look here I have no folders but some programs. Some being stock apps along with a few cydia apps. I only see maybe 3 of my cydia apps. Delete all these icons? Won't that kill the jailbreak?
  17. sentinelace
    Offline

    sentinelace iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Bump
  18. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

clean inst

,

factory reset

,

factory reset jailbroken ipad

,

how to factory reset jailbroken ipad 3 ios 6.1

,

how to re jailbreak iphone 5 6.1.2

,

jailbreak over a jailbreak

,

rejailbreak iphone 5 6.1.2