Facetime in Cyprus

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by slipknot, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. slipknot

    slipknot
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a new iPad 2 and lashed out on an iphone4 too... Gulp...

    Anyway, I have since found that my phone company does not support FaceTime

    On calling them they said that it was Apples fault for not being able to return the text that's needed to activate it.

    The state telephone company, cytanet, supports it, but MTN, does not.

    Does anyone know if there is a solution to this or has Apple looked at this issue.

    I am stuck as I signed a new contract for the iPhone and now cannot cancel it. A real PITA!

    Thx in advance
     
  2. DefBref

    DefBref
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Thanks Received:
    53
    FaceTime only works over wifi, so no phone company in the world supports it via 3G.
     
  3. qamarrasheed

    qamarrasheed
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I bought my iPad in Canada and I set it up there. FaceTime does not appear to work here in dubai. Any solutions..?
     
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Dubai does not allow Facetime. Apple, of course, abide by all local and national regulations, so I'm afraid you'll be unable to use Facetime while you're in Dubai.

    Tim
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,450
    Thanks Received:
    4,307
    While FaceTime work can work with a telephone number, it does not have to. You can set it up to work with an email address. I have not done anything with FaceTime myself, so all I can do is offer this link, which should help you figure out what will work.

    Managing FaceTime On Multiple iDevices -- AppAdvice
     
  6. slipknot

    slipknot
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Twerppoet... thank you. i will have a look and see if I can set it up with mails!!

    Thx for the other posts too. Good info.
     
  7. slipknot

    slipknot
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK... have mac talking to Ipad2 on FaceTime.... Cannot see how I can setup email on iPhone4 as it is looking for the sms that either my tel network can't action or that apple won't / can't send :-(
     
  8. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,450
    Thanks Received:
    4,307
    You have to use the Contacts app. Check out option #2 in the link I posted.
     
  9. qamarrasheed

    qamarrasheed
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    facetime in UAE

    THANKS for the info.

    However i have an iphone 4 and an ipad2 both of which were purchased in canada and came with face book apps inbuilt. When i call my email number from iphone to ipad or vice versa here in the UAE i can hear the ringing tone however the bell does not ring on the other set . Any ideas why .

    also would i be able to call another ipad user based in say canada from my ipad (bought in canada ) from UAE?
     
  10. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    A colleague of mine tells me (though I have no way of verifying this) that the 'call' is blocked based on the IP address. Since you are in Dubai you will have an IP address that identifies you as residing in that location.

    Maybe another Member has some more information on how Facetime calls are being blocked in countries that don't allow its use?

    Tim
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
cannot see myself on facetime
,
cyta settings for ipad
,
facetime in cyprus
,
facetime in cyprus with ipad
,
facetime issue cyprus
,
mail out iphone cytanet settings
,

mtn cyprus smtp settings

,
setup face time work in cyprus
,
unable to facetime from cyprus
,
why facetime bell rings when user offline