Error 4005 in trying to upgrade from iOS 6.1.3 to iOS 7

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by UnWarierMage, Sep 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UnWarierMage
    Offline

    UnWarierMage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello everyone,

    I tried to do a full factory restore of my iPad 2 to get iOS 7 on it. It won't work, no matter what. It either keeps freezing or throwing this 4005 error.

    Help, please?

    -'Mage
  2. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,575
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,120 / 1
    Have you tried to do the update to ios 7 over the air (OTA) instead? I didn't have to do a full factory restore as you did. I just made sure I had full charge on my iPad and plugged it to the main before beginning the update, OTA.

    Error 4005 from my search implies " connect to iTunes."

    You don't need to connect to iTunes in order to update, there is another option which is the update using wifi as mentioned above.
  3. UnWarierMage
    Offline

    UnWarierMage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    .... I'm jailbroken .... So that's why I'm trying to do the full factory restore.
  4. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,575
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,120 / 1
    Yes, I wondered that as I was posting. We have our content expert super moderators/members that can help you with this as well. Hang tight!
  5. UnWarierMage
    Offline

    UnWarierMage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    OK, thank you!

    EDIT: I gave the "foolproof restore" instructions a shot and right now I'm stuck at "Preparing iPad for Restore". hmm.....
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2013
  6. UnWarierMage
    Offline

    UnWarierMage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Help, please? I've tried everything I can think of and still no luck.
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,255
    Thanks Received:
    1,973
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,202 / 1
    You are using the iTunes on PC method? Try disabling your computer's firewall, if yo have one. Don't forget to turn it back on immediately after. This used to be a problem with some iOS updates. I don't know if it still is, but you can try and see.
  8. UnWarierMage
    Offline

    UnWarierMage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, I've tried disabling AV and firewall and still no luck. And yes, I'm on a PC.

    - ' Mage
  9. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,255
    Thanks Received:
    1,973
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,202 / 1
    At this point, if you have an Apple Store in reasonable proximity, I'd recommend making a genius appointment and seeing if they can sort it.

    The other options might be to see if you can do anything using DFU mode to initiate a clean install of iOS. I'm not familiar with that approach, so if you have any questions try posting them in the Hacking section. Here is a link to the forum area. You'll find the DFU instructions in a sticky thread; at the top of the list of post if you in a web browser, in a separate tab if you are using the iPF app.

    iPad Hacking

    Be sure to read up on the procedure and reasons for using it before you do anything. As I said, I'm not that familiar with it and may be wrong on any of several points.

    Good luck.
  10. variszabi
    Offline

    variszabi iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hungary
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same error, but: didnt enter to restore mode. Hold power+home gomb nothing happen. The display always black. But enter DFU. I try to restore: itunes give me error 4005 unknown error.
    Any idea?
  11. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,445
    Thanks Received:
    1,713
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,832 / 0
    Hey, variszabi. As you've opened another thread with this issue of yours (link here: http://www.ipadforums.net/showthread.php?t=121699), I'm going to go ahead and close this one. It's hard to keep track of duplicate conversations and since yours is the newer question, let's keep responses to your issue over in your stand-alone thread.

    Thanks for understanding and this thread is closed.

    Marilyn
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple error 4005
,
continued 4005 error on ipad2
,
error 4005
,
error 4005 fix
,
error 4005 ipad
,
error 4005 ipad restore
,
ios 4005
,
ios error 4005
,
ipad 2 error 4005
,
ipad 2 restore error 4005
,
ipad 4005
,
ipad 4005 error
,
ipad 錯誤4005
,

ipad error 4005

,
ipad error code 4005
,
ipad restore error 4005
,
ipad4005
,

iphone error 4005

,
iphone unknown error 4005
,
what is error code 4005 for an ipad