What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

email on iPad 2 independent of PC

FredRL

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am very new to the iPad and am having trouble understanding how to set up the email facility the way I want it. I am hoping it is possible to set up an email account that is related solely to the iPad and has no connection with the email setup on my PC. Is this possible? I do not want to sync the email on the iPad with the email system on my PC. When I go into the email setup on the iPad it asks for details of my existing email account on my PC but this seems inappropriate in relation to what I am trying to achieve. Any advice for an octogenarian padder?

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
I should have typed this first: Welcome to the forum. Good to see you here!

How about you just creat a new gmail account - just for the iPad?

You'd have to create it at Google, but once you have it set up, you can then hook it to the iPad's Mail app.

That's what I did for my mom's iPad2 - mainly because I wanted to be able to e-mail from the iPad2 if I needed to.

Hope that helps.

Marilyn

Last edited:
OP
F

FredRL

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thank you for your suggestion, Marilyn, it sounds fine .................

Except(!) I do not know how to "hook it into the iPad's Mail App.

I can readily see how to open agmail account on my PC - but what then?

Hope you can help further.

Regards.

Fred

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Okay, no problems. I'm going to assume you have established a Gmail account for the iPad, 'kay?

1) In the Settings app of your iPad, in the left column, select "Mail, Contacts, Calendars."
2) On the right side, select "Add Account..."