DVD to computer to ipad2

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by iCan, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. iCan
    Offline

    iCan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I Know there's a lot of threads on putting DVDs to iPad, but I was wondering if there is a full guide available on iPad forums somewhere that explains step by step how to put a DVD on to the computer (pc)' and then subsequently convert to e right format and put on to iPad.

    I keep seeing handbrake, but I could get it to process my friends episode on DVD...

    I need like a step by step guide - on to computer, then convert, then to iPad...

    If anyone can redirect me to another thread and this can be closed? I did do a search but I couldn't find what I was looking for or else I did find it but didn't understand it.... Flip I feel stupid.....

    Apple newbie here ... /-(

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  2. iCan
    Offline

    iCan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Ok using and brake for some DVDs but it's taking more than 40 mins for a 20 min episode of king of queens, is that normal?

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  3. Jockscrap
    Offline

    Jockscrap iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    183
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    From what i can gather, it is very much dependent on the speed of your computer. It isn't a quick process. By now I expect you've been able to see if the conversion has worked...success?
  4. iCan
    Offline

    iCan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I must have done something wrong....ok it all worked fine.... I selected the apple tv preset and the quality is terrible, even on iTunes on pc. It's breaking up, sound is on and off...what on earth? I just spent the day doing that. What a waste....

    I used DVD catalyst for some friends episodes and they were ok....not greatest quality...but they are brilliant compared to this latest ...

    Gonna have to start again tomorrow ... Arch

    :(

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  5. iCan
    Offline

    iCan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I wonder if it's cos it's a USA DVD and I'm in the uk? I need to change region on my computer? Ah the troubles...

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  6. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    That certainly sounds like it could be the problem.....we use PAL and DVD's from the USA use NTSC, I've not used DVD convertors but there may be a setting within handbrake for this.

    The Archangel
  7. iCan
    Offline

    iCan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I'll have to check this out. Wasted most of the afternoon yesterday converting it.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
Similar Threads
  1. willywonka
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    3,072
  2. The 12th Doctor
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    4,085
  3. jjp2
    Replies:
    45
    Views:
    9,241
  4. Simon1405
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,511
  5. Ickleoois
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,594
Loading...

Share This Page