What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dumb question coming up so brace yourselves.

5teve

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Blackburn in NW of . . . . . . . . . . . . Engl
Hi guys,
I'm not a computer expert by any means but I spend half of my life with my fingers on a keyboard and my eyes watching a screen.
My main PC is a Mac Mini Aluminium which is fairly new but I also have a couple of Compaq desktops around the house and an Advent Netbook. I should also add that I have an iPad 2 with 32gb and wi-fi but no 3G (in white). I love the crystal clear screen and the fact that I get very little "buffering" when watching a video but, apart from that, I can't see any real value for my (almost) £570 if you include the extras that I bought at the time.
So why are you posting, Steve?
The simple answer is that I need the experts (that's you guys) to tell me what software I should be using to make my iPad experience better.
I'd like to create paintings on screen and write a novel, play poker and Scrabble etc. I'd like to use it as an e-book reader for anything but school books. I'm way past that sort of thing.
I need you guys to tell me which software I should be using.
Educate me. Tell me why this iPad 2 is the best thing since sliced bread. ..... Please.

Cheers,
Steve

KevinJS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
OK, here goes. And it's not a dumb question. First time I hooked up a computer to the Internet, I brought my hands down on the keyboard in a flourish that would have made Carlo Curly proud, paused and thought "Christ. I don't know how to use this thing. AT ALL.

I'll leave GarageBand for someone who has found it useful. I can't make head nor tail of it.