Dropping Wi-Fi signal

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Fabwab, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. Fabwab

    Fabwab iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Please help

    Due to a motor accident I have been housebound for some weeks. I have been using my home wireless network to allow me to access the Internet from my I-pad. Recently it has started to drop the connection on a pretty regular basis which is most frustrating. The only way I can get it back on is to go to Setting, then Wi-Fi, then network and then clicking on 'Renew Lease'.

    I have tried reinstalling the network and it seems that all is ok with the connection (when it is connected it works fine). The other computers on the network, all wireless, are not experiencing any problems at all. Problem will occur even when I am the only person accessing the network.

    Any help would really be appreciated.

    Many thanks in advance.

    Fabwab
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    When it drops the signal, if you go to 'Settings', 'WiFi' can you see the WiFi signal there? Have you got your iPad set up to automatically join 'known networks'?

    Tim
     
  3. andyc12

    andyc12 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same problem here.....
     
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Do you have your WiFi set to automatically join known networks?

    Tim
     
  5. andyc12

    andyc12 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes it's set to auto join. The signal just disappears and it will say "no mobile data connection available" as it's turned off when I'm at home and then a box comes up listing my router (a new BT home hub) I click connect, and the box comes back up several times. Sometimes it connects other times it asks for the password to be entered.
     
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    That's strange because, if it's set to auto-join known networks I can't understand why it's asking you if you want to join - it's a known network.

    One trick that has helped a number of users is to go to 'Settings', 'WiFi' and tell it to forget all network connections and then enter them again.

    Tim
     
  7. andyc12

    andyc12 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Tim, have tried that mate, have reset the iPad, got the auto brightness turned off as suggested on apples site. I have tested with other wireless gadgets and when the iPad has lost it's connection the others have kept connected. Very strange. I love the iPad but as already stated it's very annoying when it keeps loosing the connection. It took 15 mins to write my first post on this thread as it kept bombing out just as I got to click send !

    It is a known network and that's what I find strange, why would it ask to enter the password 3 times in the space of 20 mins !

    Cheers
    Andy
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2011
  8. Fabwab

    Fabwab iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tim, thanks for the help but, as Andy is finding out nothing seems to sort out this problem. Everything seems to be set up correctly but the fault just keeps returning. New problem that may be connected and which has now occurred twice is that whilst browsing the screen dims and whilst you can change sites you can neither expand the page size nor will any of the links work. The only way you can get it back is to click on the reset button in settings and then re-assign the network. Annoying
     
  9. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    You can tell I'm running out of ideas on this one, but one last thing to try is a reboot - which may clear things out a bit. Switch the iPad off and then press and hold the Power and Home buttons together until the white Apple logo appears - it takes a time - and then let the iPad reboot. See if that fixes the problem.

    Tim
     
  10. saphire

    saphire iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    I am having the same problems on Ipads 1 and 2 I am on my laptop using wifi but both ipads won't connect although they are showing as being connected. The Wifi just stopped responding last night I have done full resets on both with no joy.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2011
  11. MisterT01

    MisterT01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When you do this do you lose all your data? Is it like restoring factory settings?
     
  12. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    No, everything is as it was before, so all your data is safe.

    The Archangel
     
  13. dingdong

    dingdong iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    west of england
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same problem here - my iPad 1 suddenly stopped seeing the WiFi even though nothing has changed in the house and all the other computers are still getting a strong signal. Wary of renewing lease, or renewing network settings without first finding out exactly what gets erased. Unfortunately the manual isn't clear on this....which is why I'm here looking for answers!
     
  14. Harley man

    Harley man iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    just outside of philly pa USA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    As Tim said I would hard reboot I pad and I would also hard reboot router .

    from USA bucks county pa Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  15. Gianormo

    Gianormo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the same problem and have tried the solutions offered. One thing I have noticed is that the problem is particularly bad when my son is using the Internet from his laptop at the same time.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad dropping wifi signal
,

ipad drops wifi signal

,

ipad keeps dropping wifi signal

,
ipad keeps losing wifi signal
,
why does ipad keep losing wifi signal